Applied Mechanics Division

Applied Mechanics Division (AMD) strives to foster the intelligent use of mechanics by engineers and to develop this science to serve the needs of the engineering community.


The Division of Applied Mechanics strives to foster the intelligent use of mechanics by engineers and to develop this science to serve the needs of the engineering community. Areas of activity cover all aspects of mechanics, irrespective of approach, including theoretical, experimental, and computational methodology. The field of mechanics, which is the study of how media responds to external stimuli, includes fundamental analytical and experimental studies in:

Biomechanics, Composite materials, Computing methods, Dynamics, Elasticity, Experimental Methods, Fluid dynamics, Fracture, Geomechanics, Hydrodynamics, Lubrication, Mechanical properties of materials, Micromechanics, Plasticity and failure, Plates and shells, Wave propagation, other related fields.

The Applied Mechanics Division is one of the oldest and largest divisions of ASME. Professor Stephen P. Timoshenko, first Chairman of the Division, and others founded the Division.


Taher Saif, Chair

Glaucio H. Paulino, Chair, Program

Marco Amabili, Ph.D., Vice Chair

Pradeep Guduru, Past Chair

Kenji Takizawa, Vice Chair, Programs

Samantha Daly, Secretary

Honors & Awards

Society Level Awards:

Division Level Awards:

AMD Call for Nominations 2021

2020 Haythornthwaite Grants Recipients

Nominations link for processing division awards.
Nomination Awards

Important Award Information For Recipients of Monetary Awards

Please note that honorariums cannot be distributed without receipt of applicable tax forms. If you are a recipient of a monetary award, you will be contacted by ASME staff regarding tax forms you will need to complete, as well as how to submit them to us.

Honors & Awards Committee Five Past Chairs

Past Chair (2020-2021)
Yuri Bazilevs
E. Paul Sorensen Professor of Engineering
Brown University

Past Chair (2019-2020)
Yonggang Huang
Walter P. Murphy Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, and Materials Science and Engineering
Northwestern University

Past Chair (2018-2019)
B. Balachandran
Minta Martin Professor
University of Maryland

Past Chair (2017-2018)
Pradeep Sharma
M.D. Anderson Chair Professor
University of Houston

Past Chair (2016-2017)
Arun Shukla
Simon Ostrach Professor
University of Rhode Island


Links to helpful online resources related to the division are below. If you have suggestions for other resources, please contact the division chair or ASME staff.

  • ASME Landmarks Program
    Landmarks, sites and collections of historic importance to mechanical engineering are designated by ASME through its History and Heritage Landmarks Program.
  • ASME History and Heritage
    ASME fosters the preservation of mechanical engineering innovations used in a wide range of applications through its History and Heritage program.

U.S. Based Organizations

U.S. Government Agencies & Departments

Regional Bodies

You are now leaving