Warner T. Koiter Medal

The Warner T. Koiter Medal, established in 1996, is bestowed in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of solid mechanics with special emphasis on the effective blending of theoretical and applied elements of the discipline, and on a high degree of leadership in the international solid mechanics community.

The award was funded by the Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands, to honor Warner T. Koiter for his fundamental work in nonlinear stability of structures in the most general sense, for his diligence in the effective application of these theories, his international leadership in mechanics, and his effectiveness as a teacher and researcher.

Form of Award: $2000, bronze medal, certificate, and a $750 travel allowance
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Applied Mechanics Division
Nomination Deadline: September 15
E-mail: persaudl@asme.org
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

Warner T. Koiter Medalists  

1997 Warner T. Koiter
1998 Viggo Tvergaard
1999 Charles R. Steele
2000 Giulio Maier
2001 Wolfgang G. Knauss
2002 James K. Knowles
2003 David R.J. Owen
2004 Zenon Mróz
2005 Raymond W. Ogden
2006 Pierre Suquet
2007 C.T. Sun
2008 Richard D. James
2009 Stelios Kyriakides
2010 Nicolas Triantafyllidis
2011 James G. Simmonds
2012 Erik Van der Giessen
2013 Norman A. Fleck
2014 Guruswami Ravichandran
2015 Kaushik Bhattacharya
2016 Pedro Ponte Castañeda
2017 Wei Yang
2018 M. Taher A. Saif
2019 K. T. Ramesh
2020 Anthony M. Waas
2021 Gerhard A. Holzapfel
2022 Vikram Deshpande
2023 Yiu-Wing Mai
2024 H. Jerry Qi

You are now leaving ASME.org