Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award

ASME Unit: Applied Mechanics Division (AMD)
Date Established: 1998
Achievement: Special achievement for young investigators in Applied Mechanics.
Limitations: The candidate must not have reached her/his 41st birthday by December 31st of the year of the awards presentation.
Nomination Deadline: 9/15
Form of Award: $1000
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: Applied Mechanics Division
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: Executive Committee of Applied Mechanics Division.
Selecting Process: Nominations from Technical Committees of AMD, individuals of ASME and members of selection committees. For information on how to nominate a candidate, visit the ASME Unit Award Nominations Page. Full nomination packages will only be accepted via email in a one document PDF file to the contacts listed on this page.
Funding: Custodian fund of Applied Mechanics Division
Date Created: 10/18/2000
Date Modified: 7/3/2019
Contact Names: Marco Amabili (Chair), April Tone (ASME Staff)
Contact Emails:;

Winners of the Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award

1998 Mary C. Boyce
1999 Huajian Gao
2000 Pedro Ponte-Castaneda
2001 Zhigang Suo
2003 L. Cate Brinson
2004 Kaushik Bhattacharya
2005 George Haller
2005 L. Mahadevan
2006 Jian Cao
2007 Assad Oberai
2008 Chad M. Landis
2009 Pradeep Sharma
2010 Harley T. Johnson
2011 Markus J. Buehler
2011 Ioannis Chasiotis
2012 Yuri Bazilevs, Kenji Takizawa, Xi Chen
2013 Wei Cai
2014 Katia Bertoldi, Ryan S. Elliott
2015 Thao (Vicky) D. Nguyen
2016 Pedro Miguel Reis
2017 José Andrade
2018 Liping Liu, Dennis Kochmann
2019 Yihui Zhang
2020 Xuanhe Zhao
2021 Sinan Keten
2022 Nanshu Lu and Shawn A. Chester
2023  Cunjiang Yu

You are now leaving