Thomas K. Caughey Dynamics Medal

The Thomas K. Caughey Dynamics Medal is conferred in recognition of an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of nonlinear dynamics through practice, research, teaching and/or outstanding leadership.

The medal which honors, Dr. Thomas K. Caughey, and commemorates his contributions to research and to the society was established by the Applied Mechanics Division in 2008, and operated as a division award until 2020 when it was elevated to a Society award.
Form of Award: A $2000 honorarium, a bronze medal, a certificate, and a travel supplement not to exceed $750
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Applied Mechanics Division
Nomination Deadline: September 15
Nomination Sent To: Thomas K. Caughey Dynamics Medal Committee
Committee Chair: P.R. Guduru
Phone Number: 401-863-3362 
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)      

Thomas K. Caughey Dynamics Medal (SOCIETY LEVEL)

2021 Michael P. Paidoussis

Thomas K. Caughey Dynamics Award (DIVISION LEVEL)

2008 Ali Hasan Nayfeh
2009 Stephen H. Crandall
2010 Jerrod E. Marsden
2011 Philip Holmes
2012 Francis C. Moon
2013 Lothar Gaul
2014 Alexander F Vakakis
2015 Gabor Stepan
2017 Richard H. Rand
2018 Firdaus Udwadia
2019 Anil K. Bajaj and Steven W. Shaw
2020 Pol D. Spanos


Nomination Instructions

Achievement Nomination Form

You are now leaving