Bioengineering Division

Bioengineering Division (BED) is focused on the application of mechanical engineering knowledge, skills and principles from conception to the design, development, analysis and operation of biomechanical systems.


The ASME Bioengineering Division is focused on the application of mechanical engineering knowledge, skills and principles from conception to the design, development, analysis and operation of biological systems.

The Division's technical activities are organized through the Fluid Mechanics, Design, Dynamics, & Rehabilitation, Biotransport, Cell & Tissue Engineering, Solid Mechanics Technical Committees, Education Committee, and the.

Social media pages: Twitter and LinkedIn

Division Journals


Shannon Stott

Past Chair
Alison Marsden

Vice Chair, Secretaty
Prof. Alisa Morss Clyne

Secretary Elect
Spencer P. Lake

Rafael Davalos

Member, at Large
Bob Hauck

Member, at Large
Craig Goergen

Member, at Large
Prof. Josue Sznitman

Member in Charge of Member Affairs
Matthew Fisher

Member, at Large
Prof. Jessica Oakes

Communications & Outreach Specialist
Zhenpeng Qin

Communications & Outreach Specialist
DR Parisa Saboori

Student Relations
Rouzbeh Amini

BED Student Leadership Team:
Caleb Berggren (Chair, ASME BED Student Leadership Committee)
Shelby White (Vice Chair, ASME BED Student Leadership Committee)
Zach Davis (Communication and Outreach Specialist: Student Representative)


Featured Events

Thursday, February 2, 2023 1 PM EST
Making Memorable Conference Presentations
Presnted by the ASME Bioengineering Student Leadership Committee

The workshop will dive into the do’s and don’ts for making memorable scientific presentations at conferences and is applicable for all specialties/fields and career stages. The 75min workshop will include two well-known and highly respected panelists, Dr. Ian Sigal, an Associate Professor of Ophthalmology and Bioengineering at the University of Pittsburgh and Dr. Jane Grande-Allen, the Isabel C. Cameron Professor of Bioengineering at Rice University. Both Dr. Sigal and Dr. Grande-Allen will answer prepared questions by the ASME-BED Student Leadership Committee followed by Q&A from the audience. Whether you have given 10 presentation or 0 at conferences, we hope this virtual workshop will help provide the tools you need to make your future work memorable!

Dr. Ian Sigal
Dr. Sigal received his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Toronto and is an associate professor in the Departments of Ophthalmology and Bioengineering at the University of Pittsburgh. Dr. Sigal founded the Ocular Biomechanics Laboratory where the objective of the laboratory is to identify causes of glaucoma in order to reduce or prevent vision loss. Dr. Sigal has published over 100 peer-reviewed publications and co-authored over 300 conference abstracts. In 2021, Dr. Sigal also received the prestigious RPB Stein Innovation Award from Research to Prevent Blindness to support the development of novel biomechanics-based therapeutics for glaucoma.

Dr. Jane Grande-Allen
Dr. Grande-Allen received her PhD in Bioengineering from the University of Washington and is currently the Isabel C. Cameron Professor of Bioengineering at Rice University. Dr. Grande-Allen is the director of the Integrative Matrix Mechanics Lab where the overall goal is to characterize and eventually manipulate the structure-function-environment relationship of soft tissues in an integrative fashion. Dr. Grande-Allen has published over 100 peer-reviewed manuscripts, and received numerous awards for both research and academic mentoring including the Teaching and Research Excellence Award from the George R. Brown School of Engineering and the Diamond Award for Distinguished Achievement in Academia from the University of Washington.



Friday, February 17, 2023 at 3:00 - 5:00 PM (EST)

The ASME Bioengineering Women's Networking Group welcomes Dr. Susan Franks as she discusses

Webinar Link:

Get Connected:

Technical Committees

BED Technical Committee

We have a great group of volunteers who work with our Technical Committees to create solutions and networking opportunities to those in bioengineering. Check out the link above to get connected.

Honors & Awards

In addition to nominating members for ASME Fellow Grade, the Division's Awards Committee reviews and selects recipients for the following special recognition awards:

Society Level Awards

Nomination Deadline: September 1

Note: Nomination forms for the above awards are available from each award page linked above.

Division Level Awards

Related Awards

The Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize is conferred by the National Academy of Engineering, but may be of interest to members of ASME's Bioengineering Division. Please contact NAE directly with questions about or nominations for this award.

Melville Medal
Honorary ASME Member
ASME Medal
Kate Gleason Medal

Important Award Information For Recipients of Monetary Awards

Please note that honorariums cannot be distributed without receipt of applicable tax forms. If you are a recipient of a monetary award, you will be contacted by ASME staff regarding tax forms you will need to complete, as well as how to submit them to us.

You are now leaving