Robert M. Nerem Education and Mentorship Medal

The Robert M. Nerem Education and Mentorship Medal is given to an individual who has demonstrated a sustained level of outstanding achievement in education and mentoring of trainees. Examples of meritorious activities include leadership within the nominee’s institution, mentoring activities that are above and beyond those expected from others employed in similar positions, mentoring activities tailored to meet the needs of the trainees, and innovative mentoring activities.

The award was established by the Bioengineering Division in 2017.

Form of Award: $1000, bronze medal, certificate, and a $750 travel allowance
Limitation(s): Candidates must have earned a Ph.D. or equivalent terminal degree in any field of engineering, physics, medicine or life sciences. Candidates must be an active member of the ASME Bioengineering Division.
Administrative Responsibility: Bioengineering Division
Nomination Deadline: September 1
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

Robert M. Nerem Education and Mentorship Medalists

2018 Roger D. Kamm
2019 Kenneth R. Diller
2020 Dawn Elliot
2021 Maury L. Hull
2022 Michele J. Grimm
2023 Victor H. Barocas
2024 James E. Moore Jr.

You are now leaving