Meet ASME's Federal Government Fellows

2020-2021 ASME Federal Government Fellows

Tim Shinbara 2020-2021 ASME Congressional Fellow - Manufacturing
Tim Shinbara serves in the office of the Honorable Marco Rubio (R-FL). Tim is the Vice President and Chief Technology Officer for AMT – the Association for Manufacturing Technology – where he is responsible for AMT’s data-centric strategy, activities related to industrial research and development, and global manufacturing technology discovery. His expertise spans applied R&D in additive manufacturing, composite fabrication, and technology transition experience at Northrop Grumman Corporation, IT/OT data interoperability, and small business, startup endeavors providing supply chain visibility and integration. Broadly, he supports the U.S. manufacturing industry by serving as a Board Officer of the MTConnect Institute, having served as a member of the Leadership Council for MForesight (U.S. government-funded think tank responding to advanced manufacturing inquiries), and having chaired or served on committees for additive manufacturing (ASTM F42.05 Materials and Processes, America Makes Executive Committee) and digital manufacturing and data interoperability (MxD, several university industrial advisory roles). Tim has volunteered his time supporting other international manufacturing initiatives through participating in ASME’s SATEC Forum on Innovation and Intelligent Manufacturing, attending the George C. Marshall Austria Program for Smart Manufacturing, and participating as a Corporate Member in the International Academy of Production Engineering (CIRP). Locally, Tim has also served as an Advisory Commissioner to Loudoun County’s Board of Supervisors and Economic Development Department supporting specialized manufacturing. Tim is a U.S. Navy veteran and has earned BS and MS degrees from Purdue University and an MBA from Pepperdine University. Tim began his Fellowship in June 2021.

Zachary Pritchard 2020-2021 ASME Congressional Fellow - Manufacturing
Zachary Pritchard is serving as a 2020-2021 ASME Congressional Fellow-Manufacturing on the Select Committee on Climate Crisis in the U.S. House of Representatives. Zach recently completed his PhD in Chemical Engineering from the University of Michigan and works as a Policy Analyst at the Center for Local, State, and Urban Policy (CLoSUP). In his PhD research, Zach uses theoretical and computational modeling to study continuous vat photopolymerization methods in additive manufacturing. In particular, he has focused on improving part fidelity and increasing production rates by accounting for effects in light propagation, resin flow dynamics, and reaction kinetics. Zach’s work at CLoSUP is focused on community acceptance of renewable energy. He has studied the impact of wind infrastructure property taxes in Michigan communities and analyzed state-level ballot initiatives to mandate renewable energy. Zach holds a BS in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology and an MSE in Chemical Engineering from the University of Michigan. He is also an alumnus of UM’s Science, Technology, and Public Policy program. Zach began his Fellowship on September 1, 2020.


Chloe McPherson 2020-2021 ASME Congressional Fellow – Energy. Jointly sponsored by the ASME Foundation, the ASME Petroleum Division, and ASME Government Relations.
Chloe McPherson is serving as a 2020-2021 ASME Congressional Fellow-Energy in the office of the Honorable Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA) in the U.S. House of Representatives. Chloe is an Associate Government Relations Officer at the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). In this role, Chloe serves as editor of AAAS’ science policy newsletter, the Policy Alert, and covers Congressional hearings for the Office of Government Relations. She focuses on science communication and advocacy, playing an integral role in programs including the Catalyzing Advocacy in Science and Engineering (CASE) workshop and the Golden Goose Award. Prior to her time at AAAS, Chloe worked at the White House, focusing on electric vehicles as an intern within the Domestic Policy Council Office of Energy and Climate Change; worked in the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Energy Policy and Systems Analysis; and performed wind energy research at the Ames National Laboratory. She has been actively involved with the National Society of Black Engineers, serving in national and regional leadership roles. Chloe holds a BS in Mechanical Engineering and an MS in Mechanical Engineering and Human-Computer Interaction, both from Iowa State University. Her Master’s thesis focused on an augmented reality application to aid the engineering product design process. Chloe began her Fellowship on September 1, 2020.

You are now leaving