President Trump Expands Ban on New Offshore Drilling to Cover Florida, Georgia, and South Carolina

Sep 14, 2020


Two years ago, President Trump expanded offshore drilling in the U.S. Today, with a Presidential election only weeks away, the President is reversing some of his previous decisions. The President has signed a memorandum asking the Secretary of the Interior to prohibit offshore drilling off the coast of Florida (an election battleground state), Georgia, and South Carolina. The order would prohibit drilling for 10 years, from July 1, 2022 to June 20, 2032. There is already an existing ban on drilling in the Gulf of Mexico, and this new memorandum would expand that to cover some of the Atlantic coast. The President announced this new initiative in a 20-minute speech in Jupiter, Florida.
This announcement comes after the Trump Administration made efforts to open oil and gas drilling in more federal oceans in 2018 and the decision has been met with confusion on both sides. Jaclyn Lopez, Florida director for the Center for Biological Diversity Action Fund, has been reported saying that it was President Trump who proposed opening the state to drilling in the first place.
The American Petroleum Institute called attention to the number of newly created jobs that will now be put in jeopardy as a result of the President’s new announcement.
Environmentalists are pleased with the new policy, but question the motive and are still hesitant to offer the President any praise for the action, especially given that since President Trump has taken office, the administration has replaced much of President Obama’s Clean Power Plan and has lifted restrictions on oil and gas exploration in environmentally sensitive areas.  

You are now leaving