National Labs Caucus Co-Chairs Announced

Congressman Bill Foster (D-IL) recently announced the Co-Chairs of the House Science and National Labs Caucus for the upcoming 116th Congress. His fellow co-chairs include Congressmen Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), and Lee Zeldin (R-NY). Congressman Foster replaces former Co-Chair Randy Hultgren (R-IL), who will be leaving at the start of the new congress in January.

The House Science and National Labs Caucus was formed by Reps. Hultgren, Chaka Fattah (D-PA), Ben Ray Luján and Alan Nunnelee (R-MS) in 2012. A press release at the time stated the caucus will “concentrate on reinforcing federal investment in research and the national laboratories, as well as raise awareness about the role laboratories play in long-term economic growth.”

Congressman Foster’s district represents the Argonne National Laboratory, on of 17 national laboratories located across the country. Prior to assuming his role in Congress, Rep. Foster had a 23-year long career as a high energy particle physicist at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory. Rep. Foster is currently also co-Chair of the House Research and Development Caucus.

You are now leaving