ASME.MVC.Models.DynamicPage.ContentDetailViewModel ContentDetailViewModel
ASME Member Highlight: Senate Confirms New ARPA-E Leadership

ASME Member Highlight: Senate Confirms New ARPA-E Leadership

The Senate acted in the closing days of the 117th Congress to advance the nomination of ASME member and Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award Dr. Evelyn Wang to be Director of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E).

Dr. Evelyn N. Wang is the Head of the Mechanical Engineering Department at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and the Ford Professor of Engineering. She is a leading researcher in phase-change heat transfer, which she has applied to thermal management of electronics, thermal batteries, solar thermal energy conversion, water harvesting, and desalination devices. She previously served as Associate Director of the MIT Solid-State Solar-Thermal Energy Conversion Center, a DOE Energy Frontiers Research Center. She was also a consultant for the Institute for Defense Analyses, where she advocated for increased collaboration between academia and national defense. An ASME Fellow, Dr. Wang served as chair of the 2017 International Conference on Nanochannels, Microchannels, and Minichannels (ICNMM) and co-chair of ICNMM in 2016.
Read the Department of Energy’s press release here.  

You are now leaving