ASME Standards & Certification Announces Honors and Awards Recipients and Development of Conformity

Each year, ASME Standards & Certification (S&C) issues numerous honors and awards to recognize the contribution and service of individuals involved with its standards development activities. To ensure all S&C fields have the capability of recognition, a new award has been developed. The Wilfred C. LaRochelle Conformity Assessment Award has been established and awarded by the ASME Conformity Assessment Department in honor of the late Mr. Wilfred C. LaRochelle to recognize distinguished service in the area of conformity assessment and awarded to an individual for their leadership, the establishment, advancement and promotion of ASME’s Product and Personnel Certification and Accreditation Programs. The award is named for ASME volunteer Wilfred LaRochelle, who contributed 37 years to ASME Conformity Assessment activities including chairing 3 major Conformity Assessment committees.

For more information on the Wilfred C. LaRochelle Conformity Assessment Award, contact Matthew Vazquez (+1.212.591.8522).

Below is a highlight of a few of the 2016 honors and awards recipients. ASME S&C would like to thank all of its standards and development volunteers for their contributions and service.

Bernard Hrubala, consultant at TUV Rheinland, was announced as the recipient of the Standards & Certification’s most prestigious award, the Melvin R. Green Codes and Standards Medal. Mr. Hrubala was cited for his exceptional leadership in ASME Standards & Certification, particularly the advancement and promulgation of the Society’s Conformity Assessment programs, the global acceptance of ASME standards, and the implementation of key initiatives that continue to enhance ASME’s position as a world renowned standards development organization. Mr. Hrubala has 39 years of extensive experience in the pressure equipment industry in areas including international conformity assessment, ASME codes and standards compliance, jurisdictional requirements, inspection, and auditing. He was presented with the award at the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition (IMECE) Honor Assembly held November 13, 2016 in Phoenix, AZ.

2016 Melvin R. Green Medal recipient Bernard Hrubala (cen.) poses with ASME President Keith Roe (l.) and Chair of the Committee on Honors Krishna Gupta (r.)

Frank Bakos, president of Frank Bakos Associates, was announced as the recipient of the Patrick J. Higgins Medal. Mr. Bakos was cited for outstanding dedication and effectiveness in developing and promoting a broad range of standards spanning geometric dimensioning and tolerancing, and engineering specifications; and for consensus building leadership to align national and international standards development in these areas. As an ASME member, Bakos has been a member of the Society’s Y14.5 Subcommittee on Dimensioning and Tolerancing since 1983. He was presented with the award at the Y14 Standards Committee Meeting held May 2016.

2016 Patrick J. Higgins Medal recipient Frank Bakos

Charles Bruny, was announced as the recipient of the Bernard F. Langer Nuclear Codes and Standards Award. Mr. Bruny was cited for key contributions to various codes and standards efforts as an active ASME committee member for more than 40 years; and for providing component design and analysis expertise to nuclear codes and standards colleagues. As an ASME member, Bruny began serving on Boiler and Pressure Vessel (BPV) Code committees in 1974 as a member of the Task Force on Faulted Conditions. He was presented with the award at the Boiler Code Week held August 2016 in Washington D.C.

2016 Bernard F. Langer Nuclear Codes and Standards Award recipient Charles Bruny

Matthew J. Dooley, consultant at Horizon Engineering, LLC, was announced as the recipient of the Performance Test Codes Medal. Mr. Dooley was cited for significant contributions to performance test codes, particularly for the testing of overall power plant performance; and for exceptional efforts in the area of steam generator performance testing. As an ASME member, Dooley began serving on Performance Test Codes (PTC-4) Fired Steam Generators since 1985. He will be presented with the award at the Performance Test Code Committee Week held June 2016 in Charlotte, NC.

2016 Performance Test Codes Medal recipient Matthew J. Dooley.

Michael Mills, technical director at Liberty Mutual Insurance, was announced as the recipient of the Safety Codes and Standards Medal. Mr. Mills was cited for dedication to the enhancement of public safety in the load handling industry; and for leadership in improving load handling practices, and in the establishment of the P30 Committee and the development of the Planning for Load Handling Activities Standard. As an ASME member, Mills has been active on various standards committees since 2000. He was presented with the award at the P30 Committee meeting held October 25, 2016 in Dallas, TX.

2016 Safety Codes and Standards Medal recipient Michael Mills (l.) poses with Board on Safety C&S members Bradley Closson (cen.) and R. Michael Parnell (r.)

Jon E. Batey, was announced as the recipient of the J. Hall Taylor Medal. Mr. Batey was cited for distinguished leadership and professionalism in the technical advancement of ASME codes and standards for nondestructive examination and post construction of pressure components; and for dedication to engineering and public safety as evidenced by committed service on ASME standards development committees. As an ASME Fellow, Batey has served on code committees since 1979. He was presented with the award at the Boiler Code Week held November 2016 in St. Louis, MO.

2016 J. Hall Taylor Medal recipient Jon E. Batey

ASME Dedicated Service Awards – The award honors dedicated voluntary service to the Society marked by outstanding performance, demonstrated effective leadership, prolonged and committed service, devotion, enthusiasm and faithfulness

Frank Michell, American Electric Power (PTC 23 Atmospheric Water Cooling Equipment)

In addition, the following Standards & Certification volunteers have been distinguished as ASME Fellows

Ted Anderson, Team Inc. (ASME/API Joint Committee on Fitness for Service, Taskgroup on UG-20(f) (BPV VIII))
Debjyoti Banerjee, Texas A&M University (TES Safety Standards Committee for Thermal Energy Storage System)
Russell Cipolla, Intertek AIM (BPV Committee on Nuclear Inservice Inspection (XI))
Kevin Dowding, Sandia National Laboratories (V&V Verification and Validation in Computational Modeling and Simulation)
Nat Faransso, KBR (BPV Committee on Nondestructive Examination (V), Pressure Technology Post Construction Committee)
Frank Michell, American Electric Power (PTC 23 Atmospheric Water Cooling Equipment)
Tony Norton, Eastman (Subgroup on Heat Transfer Equipment (SC VIII))
David Osage, The Equity Engineering Group Inc. (ASME/API Joint Committee on Fitness for Service)
Frank Sattler, Sattler Consultants Inc. (BPV Committee on Nondestructive Examination (V))
Darren Stang, Omax Corporation (Subgroup on High Pressure Vessels (SC VIII))

The grade of Fellow honors outstanding engineering achievement and is ASME’s highest level of membership.

For additional information on developing a submission or to view the full listing of recipients, visit ASME’s Honors & Awards webpage.