Lifetime Achievement Award

ASME Unit:   Computers and Information in Engineering Division (CIE)
Date Established:   2008
Achievement:   To recognize a person who has had a significant impact on the use of computers in engineering practice and/or education.

To ensure that it is presented to appropriately qualified recipients and to maintain the prestigious nature of the award it may not be presented every year.
Limitations:   The candidate must be an ASME member and be in good standing at the time of nomination. Current members of the ASME CIE Technical Committees and members of the Executive Committee are not eligible for the award.
Nomination Deadline:   April 1, 2018
Form of Award:   The recipient will receive a certificate and a $2000 award, which will be presented at the yearly ASME IDETC/CIE Conference.
Frequency of Award:   Annual
Administrative:   Computers & Information in Engineering Division
Level of Award:   Division
Selected By:   The selection will be based on an evaluation of accomplishments as evidenced by publications, documented testimonials from industry and academic colleagues, and impact on the field of computing in engineering, in particular advances made in the synergistic applications of mechanical engineering and computer science/engineering. The selection of the winner will be made by a committee appointed by the CIE division chair.
Selecting Process:   The nomination package should contain the latest curriculum vitae, a statement (not exceeding 750 words) on the nominee's contributions and impact, and at least five and no more than eight recommendation letters from individuals who can assess the nominee's contributions. The nominator and individuals providing recommendation letters need not be members of ASME.

Nomination materials must be submitted in a single PDF file by 5pm EST, on April 1, 2018 to Monica Bordegoni ( and should be addressed to ASME CIE Lifetime Achievement Award Committee.
Funding:   CIE Division Custodial Fund, Sponsored by Cyient Ltd.
Date Created:   12/4/2008
Date Modified:   10/3/2012
Contact Name:    
Contact Email:    
Comtact Phone:    

Winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award

2016 - Ram D. Sriram
2015 – Shuichi Fukuda
2014 - Herbert Voelcker
2013 – Not Given this year
2012 - Jami Shah
2011 - Charbel Farhat
2009 - Pradeep K. Khosla
2008 - Paul K. Wright