H.R. Lissner Medal

The H.R. Lissner Medal recognizes outstanding achievements in the field of bioengineering. These achievements may be in the form of (1) significant research contributions in bioengineering; (2) development of new methods of measuring in bioengineering; (3) design of new equipment and instrumentation in bioengineering; (4) educational impact in the training of bioengineers; and/or (5) service to the bioengineering community, in general, and to the Bioengineering Division of ASME, in particular.

The Bioengineering Division of ASME established the H. R. Lissner Award as a divisional award in 1977. It was upgraded to a society award in 1987, made possible by a donation from Wayne State University and is named in honor of Professor H. R. Lissner of Wayne State University for his pioneering work in biomechanics that began in 1939.

Form of Award: A $1,000 honorarium, a bronze medal, a certificate, and a travel supplement not to exceed $750
Administrative Responsibility: Bioengineering Division
Limitation(s): Candidate must be an active member of the Bioengineering Division
Nomination Deadline: September 1
Nomination Sent To: H.R. Lissner Medal Committee Chair (send complete form, with reference letters, as a single PDF)
Committee Chair: N.A. Langrana
Phone Number: 732-445-4500
E-mail: langrana@rutgers.edu
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



1987 Van C. Mow 2003 Vijay K.Goel
1988 Alf L. Nachemson 2004 John M. Tarbell
1989 Robert M. Nerem 2005 Steven Goldstein
1990 Albert B. Schultz 2006 Peter A. Torzilli
1991 Savio L.Y. Woo 2007 Maury Lane Hull
1992 John C. Chato 2008 Noshir A. Langrana
1993 Don P. Giddens 2009 Thomas P. Andriacchi
1994 Sheldon Weinbaum 2010 Roger D. Kamm
1995 Robert E. Mates 2011 Jay D. Humphrey
1996 Albert I. King 2012 David L. Butler
1997 Ajit P. Yoganathan 2013 Mehmet Toner
1998 Malcolm H. Pope 2014 Kyriacos A. Athanasiou
1999 Stephen C. Cowin 2015 James A. Ashton-Miller
2000 Morton H. Friedman 2016 Roger C. Haut
2001 W. Michael Lai 2017 Gerard A. Ateshian
2002 Kenneth R. Diller 2018 Louis J. Soslowsky



1977 Robert W. Mann 1982 R.M. Kenedi
1978 Y.C. Fung 1983 Henning E. von Gierke
1979 Robert F. Rushmer 1984 Perry L. Blackshear
1980 F. Gaynor Evans 1985 Richard Skalak
1981 Max Anliker 1986 Albert H. Burstein