Student Poster Presentations Recognized at NEMB 2015

May 28, 2015

A number of undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral engineering students were recognized with awards for the posters they presented at the recent ASME 2015 4th Global Congress on NanoEngineering for Medicine and Biology (NEMB 2015) in Minneapolis, Minn.

Nearly 30 students participated in the ASME NEMB Poster Competition, which began during a reception the evening of April 19. The finalists for the competition, selected at the end of the contest’s first round at reception, then faced off during the competition’s lightning round the following day.

Two students from the University of Minnesota were selected as the competition’s grand prize winners. Navid Manucherabadi won the grand prize in the postdoctoral category for his presentation “Can Vitrified Organs be Successfully Rewarmed from Within?” Zaw Win was named the grand prize winner in the graduate student category for his poster presentation, titled “Nonlinear Anisotropic Mechanical Properties of Vascular Smooth Muscle Cells.”

In the undergraduate division, Yizhong (Jenny) Hu of Washington University in St. Louis, received the first prize for her poster presentation “Stochastic Interdigitation as a Cross-Scale Toughening Mechanism at the Attachment of Tendon to Bone.” John Brockgreitens of the University of Minnesota was named runner-up in the category for his presentation “Nanoscale Sensing and Naked Eye Detection of Organophosphate Toxins.”

Rajeendra Pemathilaka from Iowa State University won the competition’s NEMB 2015 Audience Award for his entry, which was titled “Studying the Behavior in Organ-on-a-Chip with a Barrier Function of Epithelial and Endothelial Cell Monolayers.”

The authors of each of the award-winning posters received a certificate signed by ASME President J. Robert Sims. Video clips of the award winning posters and their presenters will be posted on in August. For more information, contact Christine Reilley, emerging technologies program manager, by e-mail at

You are now leaving