Charla Wise Named ASME President-Nominee at the Annual Meeting

Jun 16, 2016

June 17, 2016

(Left to right) Immediate Past President Julio C. Guerrero, ASME President K. Keith Roe and President-Nominee Charla K. Wise at the President’s Dinner.

During the President's Dinner, which was held June 7 at the ASME Annual Meeting in Louisville, Ky., the ASME Nominating Committee announced the selection of Charla K. Wise as ASME president-nominee for 2017-2018. The Committee also announced three new members of the Board of Governors, who will serve from 2017-2020.

Wise, a resident of Colleyville, Texas, a consultant and an adjunct professor of aerospace engineering at the University of Michigan, worked in a variety of capacities during her more than 25 years in the aerospace industry. In 1985, she joined General Dynamics as program director of its F-16 (Fighting Falcon) production programs for the United States Air Force. A year after General Dynamics sold its aircraft manufacturing business to Lockheed Corp., Wise became vice president of Lockheed Martin’s F-22 Raptor Program, leading the program’s Integrated Product Team through the development, critical design review and first flight of the F-22 stealth tactical fighter aircraft.

Charla Wise, ASME’s president-nominee.

From 1998 to 2003, as vice president of engineering, she led a team of 8,000 engineering, scientist and technical personnel through the consolidation of three Lockheed Martin companies into one integrated engineering department, and created the Aero Tech Fellows program. In 2003, she assumed the role of vice president of business operations and deputy for company operations. In 2007, she was named corporate vice president, a role she held until her retirement from Lockheed Martin in 2011.

A member of ASME since 2006, Wise has served in a number of Society positions, including member of the ASME Board of Governors from 2011 to 2014, chair of the Strategic Growth Task Force from 2011 to 2013, vice chair of the Committee on Honors from 2009 to 2011, and member of the ASME Foundation Board from 2005 to 2011. A longtime member of the ASME Industry Advisory Board, she served as member, chair, vice chair and program chair during her IAB tenure, which lasted from 1998 to 2011. She also served as a member of the Strategic Management Sector Council from 2008 to 2010.

Stuart Cameron

Wise was the recipient of several ASME accolades, including the ASME Henry Laurence Gantt Medal in 2006 and the ASME Dedicated Service Award in 2012. She also received a Certificate of Appreciation in recognition of her service from the Knowledge & Community/Institutes Reorganization Task Force.

The Nominating Committee also announced the names of three Board of Governors nominees during the President’s Dinner at the Annual Meeting.

Bobby Grimes

The first nominee, Stuart W. Cameron, is an ASME Fellow who lives in Clydebank, Scotland. He currently serves as a consultant to the U.K.-based energy engineering firm Doosan Babcock, where he had worked as chief engineer from 2006 until his retirement in 2010. An active volunteer with ASME Standards & Certification, Cameron currently serves as vice chair of the Standards & Certification Sector’s Board on Strategic Initiatives, project manager for Modernization of Section I – Power Boilers, member of the Section I Committee on Power Boilers, and member of the Sub-Group on Fabrication and Examination of Section I. He also serves as chair of the McDonald Mentoring Award Committee. He received the ASME Dedicated Service Award in 2015.

The second BOG nominee, Bobby Grimes, P.E., is a technical advisor for the drill bits product line at Baker Hughes in Houston. Grimes, who is an ASME Fellow, has more than 35 years of drilling technology experience at major oilfield service companies. A member of ASME for 26 years, Grimes has held numerous leadership positions with the Society, including senior vice president of the Institutes Sector, senior vice president of the Technical Events & Content (TEC) Sector, vice chair and member of the Sector Management Committee, member of the Committee on Finance and Investment, and chair of the International Gas Turbine Institute (IGTI) Task Force. He also served as chair, vice chair and treasurer of the Petroleum Division, vice president of the International Petroleum Technology Institute (IPTI), and honors and awards chair for the South Texas Section of ASME. He received the ASME Dedicated Service Award in 2016.

Mary Lynn Realff

Mary Lynn Realff, Ph.D., associate professor at Georgia Institute of Technology and former program director for the National Science Foundation (NSF), was also selected as a Board of Governors nominee. Dr. Realff, an ASME Fellow, also serves as co-director of the Center for the Study of Women, Science and Technology at Georgia Tech. As program director for the NSF from 2005 to 2007, she managed the Materials Processing and Manufacturing Program in the Engineering Directorate, and was responsible for the review and recommendation for funding of engineering research proposals submitted to the agency. A current member of the Diversity and Inclusion Strategy Committee, Realff served in a number of capacities during her more than 20 years as an ASME member. These roles have included chair and vice chair of the Textile Engineering Division, vice president for the Center for Leadership and Diversity, associate technical editor of ASME’s Journal of Manufacturing Science and Engineering, member of the Board on Diversity and Outreach, and member of the Community Development Committee.

You are now leaving