ASME Award Recipients Give Back in Support of the ASME Awards Program

Jan 26, 2017

Jan. 27, 2017

Bruno Schiavello was the recipient of the 2016 ASME Henry R. Worthington Medal.

Bruno Schiavello and Weizhong Feng, two recent recipients of prestigious ASME awards, have graciously decided to donate their honoraria to the ASME Awards Program, which recognizes the outstanding achievements of individual engineers as well as the profession’s contributions to society. The two ASME members have asked that their prizes, which totaled $6,000, be used to support the awards program.

Schiavello, a research fellow in hydraulics at Flowserve Corp. in Bethlehem, Pa., received the 2016 ASME Henry R. Worthington Medal for eminent achievement in the field of pumping machinery, systems and concepts. Schiavello was recognized for his four decades of technical leadership in the pump industry through contributions to hydraulic research, design and innovative technical solutions; for specific studies in the field of cavitation that are referenced in scientific literature; and for promoting scientific knowledge dissemination as lead organizer of ASME’s Pumping Machinery symposia over the last decade. Schiavello started his pump hydraulic research in 1973 while workingon his bachelor’s thesis at Worthington SpA in Desio, Italy.

Weizhong Feng received the 2016 Prime Movers Committee Award for his paper, “Developing Green, Highly Efficient Coal-Fired Power Technologies.”

Feng, who is the general manager of Shanghai Waigaoqiao No. 3 Power Generation Co., Ltd., in China, received the Prime Movers Committee Award for his paper titled “Developing Green, Highly Efficient Coal-Fired Power Technologies.” Feng, who is also an adjunct professor at three universities, was in charge of the engineering and construction of Phases I, II and III of the Shanghai Waigaoqiao power plant. Feng was a participant at the ASME 2015 Power Conference, were he presented three papers, including the award-winning “Developing Green, Highly Efficient Coal-Fired Power Technologies” (Power Energy 2015-49551), which was published at the conference. He was a keynote speaker at the ASME 2016 Power Conference.

To view the complete list of the ASME award recipients for 2016, or to learn more about ASME Honors and Awards, visit

You are now leaving