ASME.MVC.Models.DynamicPage.ContentDetailViewModel ContentDetailViewModel
Y.C. Fung Young Investigator Award Presented to Dr. Triantafyllos Stylianopoulos

Y.C. Fung Young Investigator Award Presented to Dr. Triantafyllos Stylianopoulos

ASME is proud to announce that Dr. Triantafyllos Stylianopoulos has received the society’s Y.C. Fung Young Investigator Award for excellence in bioengineering. This award was bestowed on Dr. Stylanopoulos for his outstanding research on the fluid and solid mechanics of tumors and on the design of novel drug delivery systems to enhance therapy; and for educating and mentoring students, and contributing to the profession through service activities.

Dr. Stylianopoulos is an assistant professor of mechanical engineering and the head of the Cancer Biophysics Laboratory at the University of Cyprus. He received a diploma in Chemical Engineering from National Technical University of Athens, Greece (2003) and a PhD in Chemical Engineering from the University of Minnesota (2008), working with Dr. Victor H. Barocas. Subsequently, he performed his postdoctoral training with Dr. Rakesh K. Jain at the Department of Radiation Oncology at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital (2008-2010).

Dr. Stylianopoulos has co-authored 50 peer-reviewed articles in the fields of biomechanics, drug delivery, cancer nanomedicine, and tumor microenvironment. He has secured more than $2.4M for funding his research, mainly from the European Commission, including a highly selective $1.6M Starting Grant from the European Research Council. Dr. Stylianopoulos’s research focuses on: 1) development of therapeutic strategies to re-engineer solid tumors in order to improve therapy; 2) mathematical modeling of the fluid and solid mechanics of cancer; 3) investigation of specific genes that are related to cancer metastasis in relation to tumor stiffness; and 4) response of stromal cells to mechanical stimuli. He currently supervises 5 senior scientists and post-doctoral fellows, 4 PhD students and 2 Master students.

Learn more about the Y.C. Fung Young Investigator Award and its previous recipients.

You are now leaving