Richard W. Barnes, 2018 Melvin R. Green Codes and Standards Medal

Dec 17, 2018


The Melvin R. Green Codes and Standards Medal was established in 1976 as the Codes and Standards Medal and renamed in 1996 to honor the memory and extraordinary contributions of an ardent supporter of industrial standards.

Richard W. Barnes, P.Eng., president of ANRIC Enterprises Inc. in Toronto, is recognized for distinguished leadership and professionalism in the research, development, promotion, acceptance and application of ASME codes and standards; and for direct senior management involvement in the design, construction and operational support of nuclear power plants.

Mr. Barnes has been actively involved in the development of ASME and CSA Group (formerly Canadian Standards Association) codes and standards for more than 38 years. Prior to establishing ANRIC Enterprises, he worked at Ontario Hydro (1971-93); earlier he was with Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd.

An ASME Fellow, Mr. Barnes is a member and past vice chair of the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Technical Oversight Management Committee; a member of the Board on Nuclear Codes and Standards; a member and past chair (13 years) of the BPV III Standards Committee of the BPV Code Section III–Rules for Construction of Nuclear Facility Components; and a member and past chair of the QME-1 Standards Committee–Qualification of Active Mechanical Equipment Used in Nuclear Facilities. Mr. Barnes received ASME’s Dedicated Service Award in 1998 and the Bernard F. Langer Nuclear Codes and Standards Award in 2003.

Mr. Barnes is also a member and past vice chair of a number of CSA committees, and past president of the Canadian Boiler Society. He received CSA’s Award of Merit in 2011. His other honors include the Canadian Nuclear Association’s Outstanding Contribution Award in 2009.

Mr. Barnes earned his bachelor’s degree in engineering and his master’s degree in engineering science from The University of Queensland in Australia in 1960 and 1967, respectively.

Video profile produced and written by Roger Torda and edited by Juan Yepes.

© The copyright of this program is owned by The American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

You are now leaving