Evelyn N. Wang, 2017 ASME Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award

Jan 9, 2018

by ASME.org

The Gustus L. Larson Memorial Awardhonors the founder of Pi Tau Sigma. It is awarded to an engineer who has demonstrated outstanding achievements in the field within 10 to 20 years of graduation.

Evelyn N. Wang, Ph.D., the 2017 award recipient, is the Gail E. Kendall professor in the mechanical engineering department at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Dr. Wang is also the associate director of the Solid-State Solar Thermal Energy Conversion Center and an associate director of the Microsystems Technology Laboratory. Her research program combines fundamental studies of micro/nanoscale heat and mass transport processes with the development of novel engineered structures to create innovative solutions in thermal management, energy and water harvesting systems. Her group uses state-of-the-art micro/nanofabrication, unique measurement and model prediction capabilities to perform in-depth studies and enable mechanistic insights into complex fluidic and thermal transport processes. This approach has also led to the discovery of novel flow and transport phenomena.

An ASME Fellow, Dr. Wang served as chair of the 2017 International Conference on Nanochannels, Microchannels and Minichannels (ICNMM). She was co-chair of ICNMM in 2016 and earlier served as track chair. Dr. Wang is a reviewer for the Journal of Heat Transfer and serves on the Heat Transfer Division’s K-9 Nanoscale Transport Phenomena Committee. Her honors include the Society’s 2012 Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat Transfer and the Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division’s 2016 Women in Engineering Award.

Dr. Wang earned her bachelor’s degree from MIT, and her master’s and Ph.D. from Stanford University.

Video profile produced and written by Roger Torda, ASME Public Information.

© The copyright of this program is owned by The American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

You are now leaving ASME.org