ASME Board of Governors (BOG)

ASME's affairs, large and small, are managed by a Board of Governors (BOG) chosen from its membership. This board has full control of the activities of the Society, subject to the limitations of the Constitution and By-Laws and Society Policies. The voting members of the Board of Governors consist of the President, the most recent available past President, nine members-at-large and the President elect (if not currently a member-at-large).

“Aim for the highest”


Howard R. Hughes, Sr, two-cone rotary drill bit penetrated medium and hard rock with ten times the speed of any former bit, and its development revolutionized oil well drilling.
Read more


Madiha Kotb


Immediate Past President
Marc Goldsmith

President – Elect
J. Robert Sims Jr.

Executive Director
Thomas G. Loughlin

Stacey Swisher Harnetty
Term 2013 - 2016

Betty Bowersox
Term 2011 - 2014

John Elter
Term 2012 – 2015

Julio Guerrero
Term 2011 - 2014

Bernard Hrubala
Term 2012 – 2015

Richard Laudenat
Term 2012 – 2015

William Worek
Term 2013 - 2016

Andrew C. Taylor
Term 2013 - 2016

Charla K. Wise
Term 2011 - 2014

Society Officers

Warren DeVries

Assistant Secretary
John Delli Venneri

Second Assistant Treasurer
June Ling

Assistant Treasurer
William Garofalo




David Soukup
Managing Director, Governance
Tel: 212.591.7397

Additional Information

Board of Governors' Committee Pages