Soichiro Honda Medal

The Soichiro Honda Medal recognizes an individual for an outstanding achievement or a series of significant engineering contributions in developing improvements in the field of personal transportation. 

Attention shall be concentrated on the brilliance of the achievement or on the overall effect of a series of contributions-- not on the individual. The achievement should be of such public importance as to be worthy of the gratitude of society and to call forth the admiration of engineers.

As a result of a generous unrestricted donation to ASME by Honda Motor Company, Ltd., in 1980, the Society established the Soichiro Honda Medal in recognition of Mr. Honda's exemplary achievements in the field of personal transportation in 1982.

Form of Award: a $7,500 honorarium, a vermeil medal, a certificate and a $750 expense supplement
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Energy Conversion Technical Group
Nomination Deadline: October 1
Nomination Sent To: Soichiro Honda Medal Committee Chair
Committee Chair: R.S. Amano
Phone Number:
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



1984 John P. Stapp 1995 Joseph M. Juran 2007 Wallace R. Wade
1985 Shoichi Furuhama 1996 Karl J. Springer  2008 Robin Stuart Sharp
1986 Lloyd L. Withrow 1997 Jack D. Benson  2009 David F. Merrion
1987 Felix Wankel 1999 John B. Heywood 2010 Thomas W. Asmus
1988 Arthur F. McLean 2000 Franz F. Pischinger 2011 John J. Mooney
1989 Shunichi Ohigashi 2001 Robert C. Stempel  2012 Priyaranjan Prasad
1990 Charles M. Heinen 2002 John H. Johnson 2013 John C. Wall
1991 Hans C. List 2003 Robert F. Sawyer 2014 Thomas Morel
1992 Hiroyuki Hiroyasu 2004 Rolf D. Reitz 2015 Thomas D. Gillespie
1993 Phillip S. Myers 2005 Barry J. Cooper 2016 Bahram Khalighi
1994 James Ellis Hall 2006 David E. Foster 2017 John E. Dec
2018 Ashwani K. Gupta