Nadai Medal

The Nadai Medal is awarded in recognition of significant contributions and outstanding achievements which broaden the field of materials engineering. Such achievements may be, for example, in the areas of education, research, development, and service to the field and profession.

The Nadai Medal was established in 1975 on the proposal of the Materials Division to honor Arpad L. Nadai, who was a pioneer in the field of engineering materials, contributing particularly to the area of plasticity. His perspective also enabled him to give strong impetus to development in fatigue and high temperature behavior.

Form of Award: $1000, Bronze Medal and Certificate
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Materials Division
Nomination Deadline: February 15
Nomination Sent To: Nadai Medal Committee Chair
Committee Chair: V. La Saponara
Phone Number: 530-754-8938
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



1975 George M. Sinclair 1990 Stephen D. Antolovich 2004 Robert O. Ritchie
1976 Evan Albert Davis 1991 John W. Hutchinson 2005 Theodore Nicholas
1977 George R. Irwin 1992 George J. Dvorak 2006 Richard M. Christensen
1978 Frank A. McClintock 1993 William N. Sharpe, Jr. 2007 Huseyin Sehitoglu
1979 Louis F. Coffin, Jr. 1994 Owen Richmond 2008 Zdenek P. Bazant
1980 Michael J. Manjoine 1995 Nicolaie D. Cristescu 2009 Lambert Ben Freund
1981 S. Stanford Manson 1996 James R. Rice 2010 Albert S. Kobayashi
1982 Iain Finnie 1997 David L. McDowell 2011 Subra Suresh
1983 Arthur J. McEvily, Jr. 1998 Ali S. Argon 2012 Satya N. Atluri
1984 Thomas J. Dolan 1999 John P. Hirth 2013 Tsu-Wei Chou
1985 Sumio Yukawa 2000 Frederick A. Leckie 2014 L. Catherine Brinson
1986 William F. Brown, Jr. 2001 William D. Nix 2015 Huajian Gao
1987 Erhard Krempl 2002 Sia Nemat-Nasser 2016 Yonggang Huang
1988 Herbert T. Corten 2003 Anthony G. Evans 2017 John A. Rogers