Kate Gleason Award

The Kate Gleason Award established in 2011 by the ASME Foundation recognizes the contribution of distinguished female leaders in the engineering profession.

As the first woman to be welcomed into ASME as a full member, Kate Gleason helped pave the way for other women to enter and thrive in the field of engineering.

The Gleason Award seeks to honor an individual female engineer who is a highly successful entrepreneur in a field of engineering or someone who had a lifetime of achievement in the engineering profession.

Nominees for the Kate Gleason Award are not required to be ASME Members.


Form of Award: $2,000, Bronze Medal, Certificate and Travel expense not to exceed $750
Limitation(s): Only women engineers are eligible for this award
Administrative Responsibility: ASME Foundation
Nomination Deadline: February 1, 2018
Nomination Sent To: Kate Gleason Award Committee Chair
Committee Chair: C. Amon
Phone Number: 416-978-3131
E-mail: dean.engineering@ecf.utoronto.ca
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)



2011 Yvonne C. Brill    
2012 Edith Stern    
2013 Ann Dowling    
2014 Ursula M. Burns    
2015 Suzanne Jenniches    
2016 Helen L. Reed