Holley Medal

The Holley Medal was established in 1924 to honor Alexander Lyman Holley, charter member of ASME. It is awarded for outstanding and unique act(s) of an engineering nature, accomplishing a noteworthy and timely public benefit by one or more individuals for a single achievement, provided the contributions are equal or comparable.

This medal commemorates Alexander Lyman Holley (1832-1882), who chaired the first meeting of ASME’s founders, Feb. 16, 1880, and was the principal author of the Society’s first by-laws.

Mr. Holley is recognized for introducing the Bessemer process of steelmaking to the United States, thus making large quantities of steel economically available to support a rapid growth in American industry during the late-nineteenth and the twentieth centuries.

Attention shall be concentrated on the brilliance of the art --not on the individual. The achievement should be of such public importance as to be worthy of the gratitude of the nation and to call forth the admiration of engineers.

In 1973, eligibility for this award was amended to recognize more than one individual for a single achievement, provided that each individual made an equal or comparable contribution.

Form of Award:$1000, Vermeil Medal and Certificate
Administrative Responsibility:General Awards Committee (GAC)
Nomination Deadline:March 1
Nomination SentTo:General Awards Committee
Committee Chair:N. Dyess
Phone Number:212-591-7094
Awarded By:Committee on Honors (COH)



1924Hjalmar G. Carlson 1963William Shockley 1998Donna L. Shirley
1928Elmer A. Sperry 1968Chester F. Carlson 2001Heinz Erzberger
1930Baron C. Shiba 1969George J. Hood 2005James D. Walker
1934Irving Langmuir 1973Harold E. Edgerton2008David G. Lilley
1936Henry Ford Kenneth J. Germeshausen2010Ashwani K. Gupta
1937Frederick G. Cottrell 1975George M. Grover
1938Francis Hodgkinson 1976Emmet N. Leith
1939Carl E. Johansson Juris Uppatnieks
1940Edwin H. Armstrong 1977J. David Margerum
1941John C. Garand 1979Bruce G. Collipp
1942Ernest O. Lawrence Douwe de Vries
1943Vannevar Bush 1980Soichiro Honda
1944Carl L. Norden 1982Jack St. Clair Kilby
1945Sanford A. Moss 1985John V. Atanasoff
1946Norman Gibson 1986Wilson Greatbatch
1947Raymond D. Johnson 1987Robert J. Moffat
1948Edwin H. Land 1988Vernon D. Roosa
1950Charles G. Curtis1989Jack S. Kilby
1951George R. Fink Jerry D. Merryman
1952Sanford L. Cluett James H. Van Tassel
1953Philip M. McKenna1990Roy J. Plunkett
1954Walter A. Shewhart 1991James R. Thompson, Jr.
1955George J. Hood 1994Dominick Danna
1957Charles S. Draper Richard W. Newman
1959Col. Maurice J. FletcherWilliam C. Moore
1961Thomas Elmer Moon 1996Bernard J. Miller