Cristina Amon and Shiv Kapoor to Become ASME Honorary Members at IMECE

Oct. 7, 2016

Cristina H. Amon, P.Eng., Sc.D.

This November, ASME will recognize nine engineering innovators for their contributions to the profession and to society at the annual Honors Assembly at the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition (IMECE) in Phoenix, Ariz. Two of these engineering leaders — Cristina H. Amon, P.Eng., Sc.D., and Shiv G. Kapoor, Ph.D. — will receive Honorary Membership in the Society, which is the highest level of ASME membership.

The Honors Assembly, a lively multi-media celebration of engineering achievement, will take place Sunday, Nov. 13 from 7:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m., at the Phoenix Convention Center.

First presented in 1880, the founding year of the Society, Honorary Membership recognizes a lifetime of service to engineering or related fields. Elected by the Board of Governors, ASME Honorary Members have been selected for their distinctive contributions to engineering, science, industry, research, public service or other pursuits allied with and beneficial to the engineering profession.

Dr. Amon, the dean of the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering and alumni chair professor at the University of Toronto, is being honored for her outstanding contributions as a researcher focusing on heat transfer, as dean of engineering at the University of Toronto, as a leader in ASME and the engineering community, and as an advocate for increased diversity within the profession.

Amon, an ASME Fellow, became the dean of the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering and alumni chair professor of bioengineering at the University of Toronto in 2006. In her position as dean, she provides leadership for the faculty’s academic, budgetary and planning processes. She is also responsible for the strategic leadership of the of one of the world’s most prominent engineering schools, comprising more than 5,500 undergraduate, 2,250 graduate students, and 250 faculty members. Before joining the University of Toronto, Amon was a member of the faculty at Carnegie Mellon University, where she served as the Raymond J. Lane Distinguished Professor from 2001 to 2006 and director of the Institute for Complex Engineered Systems from 1999 to 2006.

A researcher at the forefront of the development of computational fluid dynamics for formulating and solving thermal design problems subject to multidisciplinary competing constraints, Amon’s work focuses on nanoscale thermal transport in semiconductors, energy systems and bioengineered devices. She is also committed to community outreach endeavors, having co-developed “Engineering Your Future,” a Society of Women Engineers workshop for female and minority high school students, and “Moving 4th into Engineering,” an outreach program aimed at students in the fourth grade.

The author or co-author of more than 350 refereed articles, Amon was the associate editor of ASME’s Journal of Heat Transfer from 2001 to 2004. She also served as chair and member of the ASME Committee on Honors, chair of the Heat Transfer Division’s (HTD) Membership Recognition Committee, chair of the HTD’s K-3 Committee on Honors and Awards and chair of the K-16 Committee on Heat Transfer in Electronic Equipment, a joint committee of the HTD and the Electrical and Electronic Packaging Division (EEPD). She received the Society’s Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award in 2000, the Heat Transfer Memorial Award in 2009, and the EEPD’s K16 Clock Award and Thermal Management Award in 2004 and inaugural Women in Engineering Award in 2008.

Shiv G. Kapoor, Ph.D.

Dr. Kapoor, the Grayce Wicall Gauthier Chair in mechanical science and engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), is being recognized for more than 30 years of pioneering contributions to manufacturing engineering through basic and applied research with close collaboration with industrial users, the education and mentoring of young engineers, and lifelong service to ASME and other professional societies.

Before assuming his current position at UIUC, Kapoor served as director of the College of Engineering’s manufacturing engineering education program from 1989 to 2010 and director of the university’s Manufacturing Research Center from 1995 to 2012. Since joining the UIUC faculty in 1979, he has maintained an active research and graduate education program in the areas of modeling of manufacturing systems and quality engineering.

From 1993 to 2003, Kapoor also served as director of the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Industry/University Cooperative Research Center for Machine Tool Systems Research, focused on agile/flexible machining and machine-tool systems, machine tool system planning and control, and machining process development and innovation — research that has resulted in significant advances in mechanistic machining process models. In addition, his work on the micro/mesoscale manufacturing factory of the future has had an enduring impact on the field of micro and precision machine tool design, with Kapoor and his team now being acknowledged as innovators in understanding the physics of microcutting and developing models to predict the machining performance of microscale systems.

Kapoor, an ASME Fellow, has published more than 350 journal and conference papers, and has authored or co-authored numerous book chapters. In 2008, Kapoor joined ASME’s Technical Committee on Publications and Communications, and has served as chair since 2011. Previously, he had served as chair of the Manufacturing Engineering Division (MED), member-at-large on the Manufacturing Operating Board and vice president for the manufacturing technical group on ASME’s Council on Engineering. In addition to receiving the MED’s Outstanding Service Award in 1998, Kapoor received the ASME’s Blackall Machine Tool and Gage Award in 1992, 1997 and 2008; the Dedicated Service Award in 1999; and the William T. Ennor Manufacturing Technology Award in 2003.

In addition to being an ASME Fellow, Kapoor is also a Fellow of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers, a senior member of the Institute of Industrial Engineers, a member of industrial engineering honor society Alpha Pi Mu, and a member of the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society's Advisory Committee.

The ASME Foundation is the proud supporter of the ASME Honors and Awards program through the management of award endowment funds set up by individuals, corporations or groups. For more information on the other special events scheduled to take place at IMECE 2016, visit