Young Engineer Award

ASME Unit: Computers and Information in Engineering Division (CIE)
Date Established: 2008
Achievement: To recognize a promising young investigator who is making outstanding contributions to the progress in the application of computers in engineering. To ensure that it is presented to appropriately qualified recipients and to maintain the prestigious nature of the award it may not be presented every year.
Limitations: The candidate must be below the age of 40 years at the time of nomination. The candidate must also be an ASME member and be in good standing at the time of nomination. Current members of the CIE Executive Committee are not eligible for the award.
Nomination Deadline: May 1
Form of Award: The recipient will receive a certificate and a $1000 award, which will be presented at the yearly ASME IDETC/CIE Conference.
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: Computers & Information in Engineering Division
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: CIE Executive Committee
Selecting Process: Nomination materials must be submitted in a single PDF file by May 01 to Barbara Zlatnik ( and should be addressed to ASME CIE Division Award Committee.
Nomination Package The nomination package should contain the following:
  • Cover letter from the nominator which clearly states the CIE unit award.
  • Nominee’s latest curriculum vitae
  • A statement (not exceeding 750 words) on the nominee’s contributions and impact.
  • At least three and no more than five recommendation letters from individuals who can assess the nominee’s contributions and impacts
Funding: CIE Division Custodial Fund
Date Created: 11/26/2008
Date Modified: 10/3/2012
Contact Name: Barbara Zlatnik
Contact Email:

Winners of the Young Engineer Award

2023 Anand Balu Nellippallil
2022 Zhenghui Sha
2021 Tsz-Ho Kwok & Vinayak R. Krishnamurthy
2020 John Steuben
2018 Douglas L. Allaire
2017 Rahul Rai
2016 Mahesh Mani
2014 Paul William Witherell
2013 Athanasios Iliopoulos
2012 Gregory M. Mocko
2011 Gaurav Ameta
2011 Abhishek Seth
2010 Jitesh Panchal
2009 Charlie C.L. Wang
2008 Roshan D'Souza

You are now leaving