Yellott Award

ASME Unit: Solar Energy Division (SED)
Date Established: 1992
Achievement: Presented to an outstanding individual that has contributed significantly to the organization of the Solar Energy Division (SED) sponsored symposia, has demonstrated outstanding leadership in ASME, has a reputation for performing high quality research, has made significant contributions to solar engineering through education, state or federal service, or in the private sector.
Limitations: Be a member of ASME and the Solar Energy Division (SED)
Nomination Deadline: For the 2022 Award - July 31, 2022
Form of Award: Recognition plaque and a monetary award of $1000
Frequency of Award: Biannual
Administrative: Solar Energy Division
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: An Awards Committee chaired by a former Chair of the SED Executive Committee, the current Past Chair of the SED Executive Committee, and at least one additional member (up to five total).  The 2021-2022 committee is comprised of Keith Sharp (Awards Committee Chair), Erik Koepf, and Roy Hogan. 
Selection Process: The application package consists of:
  1. A current CV, including updated list of publications
  2. A two-page description of most important scientific achievement pertinent to the award description above
  3. Up to three letters of reference (alternately, but less preferred, contact information for up to three references
Nomination packets for the Yellott Award should be submitted to the current SED Executive Committee Past Chair by the deadline listed above. The award is typically presented at the annual ASME Energy Sustainability conference Awards Banquet along with an invitation to give an honorary presentation.
For consideration for the 2022 Yellot Award, email your application package to the current SED Executive Committee Past Chair: Erik Koepf (
Funding: Custodian Account
Date Created: 11/21/2000
Date Modified: 6/22/2022

Winners of the Yellott Award

2020 Wojciech Lipinski
2018 Peter Loutzenhiser
2016 Christian Sattler
2014 T. Agami Reddy
2013 Jeffrey Morehouse
2010 Robert Boehm
2008 Aldo Steinfeld
2006 Hunter Fanney
2004 Jane Davidson
2002 Thomas R. Mancini
2000 Frank Krieth
1996 Robert L. Reid
1994 D. Yogi Goswami
1992 William A. Beckman

You are now leaving