Robert E. Abbott Award

ASME Unit: Design Engineering Division (DED)
Date Established: 1978
Achievement: For valued services on behalf of the Division, the Society, and the Engineering Profession
Limitations: A Lifetime Service Award to recognize a Society Member or Staff Member who has served the Division beyond the call of duty
Nomination Deadline: 2/22/2024
Form of Award: Glass plaque
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: Design Engineering Division
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: Nominations are submitted to the DED Honors and Awards Committee by friends and colleagues via nomination packages
Selecting Process: Qualifications evaluated and voted upon by the Design Division Honors and Awards
Funding: Division Custodian Account
Date Created: 10/18/2000
Date Modified: 1/30/2013
Contact Name:  
Contact Email:  
Contact Phone:  

Winners of the Robert E. Abbott Award

1980  William H. Browne 
1981  Grace Abbott 
1982  Saul Poliak 
1993  John W. Wesner 
1994  Richard A. Hirsch 
2001  Philip E. Doepker 
2002  Crispin Hales 
2005  Steven Velinsky
2008  Kenneth J. Waldron
2008  Krishna C. Gupta
2009  Daniel J. Segalman
2013  J. Michael McCarthy 
2014  Ahmed Shabana; Panos Y. Papalambros 
2015  William W. (Buddy) Clark 
2016  Shapour Azarm 
2017 Vijay Kumar
2018 Tim Simpson
2019 Wei Chen
2020 No award given
2021 Kon-Well Wang
2022 Not awarded
2023 Not awarded

You are now leaving