John P. Davis Gas Turbine Applications Paper Award

ASME Unit: International Gas Turbine Institute
Date Established: 6/1985
Achievement: The John P. Davis Award will be awarded from time to time (not necessarily each year) to one or more papers that most significantly:

(a) describe new or continuing gas turbine applications;

(b) identify planning, installation, operating and/or maintenance problems and their solutions; and

(c) exemplify candid exposure of real-world problems and solutions and are judged, therefore, to be of exceptional value to others supplying or using gas turbines and their support systems.
Nomination Deadline:  
Form of Award: $1,000 total cash for each paper and a plaque to each individual author
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: ASME International Gas Turbine Institute
Level of Award: Institute
Selected By: Recommended by International Gas Turbine Institute Reading Committee; the Executive Committee makes the final selection.
Selecting Process: International Gas Turbine Institute Reading Committee reads papers and through an iterative process of reading and re-reading papers, chooses the nominee(s) for the best applications paper(s) by consensus for recommendation to the Executive Committee
Funding: International Gas Turbine Institute'/s operating fund.
Date Created: 10/10/2000
Date Modified: 9/1/2015
Contact Name: Thomas Sattelmayer
Contact Email:
Contact Phone:

+ 49 89 289 16210

John P. Davis Gas Turbine Applications Paper Award Recipients

1985 C. Solt
M. Stock
2001 J.J. Yu
D.E. Bently
P. Goldman
K.P. Dayton
B.G. Van Slyke
1986 S.T. Arvanitis
Y.B. Symko
R.N. Tadros
2002 M. Driscoll
E. McFetridge
W. Arseneau
1987 W.D. Johns
R.H. Porter
2003 T. Gabb
P.S. Prevey
R. Ravindranath
M. Shepard
1988 J.G. Ferguson 2004 T. Scarinci
I. Day
C. Freeman
1989 H.R. Simmons
A.J. Smalley
2006 M. Driscoll
T. Habib
1990 T. Sattelmayer
M.P. Felchin
J. Haumann
J. Hellat
D. Styner
2007 R. Ravindranath
P.S. Prevéy
N. Jayaraman
M. Shepard
1991 K. Budin
G. Gasteiger
P. Schobesberger
2008 S. Higuchi
T. Koganezawa
Y. Horiuchi
H. Araki
T. Shibata
S. Marushima
1992 Y. Matsumoto
K. Ito
R. Yokoyama
2009 E. Schneider
S. Demircioglu
S. Franco
D. Therkorn
1993 E. Benvenuti
R. Bettocchi
G. Cantore
G. Negri di Montenegro
P.R. Spina
2010 K. Ekici
R. Srivastava
L. Virgin
R. Kielb
J. Panovsky
1994 M.G. Dunn
A.J. Baran
J. Miatech
2011 N. Fredrick
M. Davis Jr
1995 G. Myers
R. Reynolds
R. Srinivasan
M. Cardenas
C. Arana
2012 J.P. Feist
P. Sollazzo
B. Charnley
S. Berthier
1996 R. Dalla Betta
J.C. Schlatter
S.G. Nickolas
M.B. Cutrone
K.W. Beebe
Y. Furuse
T. Tsuchiya
2013 M. Venturini
D. Therkorn
1997 P. Childs
M. Noronha
2014 Jack Halsey
L. Overton, Jr.
Dr. Philip Buelow
David Bretz
1998 J. Stalder    
1999 C. Freeman
A.L. Rowe
2000 N.D. Rom
M. Westermark
M.A. Bartlett
T. Lindquist