Graduate Student Award

ASME Unit: Solar Energy Division (SED)
Date Established: 2000
Achievement: Recognizes an outstanding graduate student working in an area of solar energy supported by the Solar Energy Division of ASME. Areas of interest include:
  • Conservation and Solar Buildings
  • Heating and Cooling
  • Photovoltaics
  • Solar Chemistry and bio-conversion
  • Solar Thermal Power
  • Wind Energy
  • General solar topics (solar ponds, solar chimneys, OTEC, energy policy,…)
Limitations: Applicants must be student members of ASME enrolled as full-time graduate students effective December 1 of the previous year
Nomination Deadline: 5/1
Form of Award: The award includes $1000, a recognition plaque, and registration at the current International Solar Energy Conference held each year (in summer)
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: Solar Energy Division
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: A committee consisting of the following two SED Executive Committee members: Past Chair and Current Chair
Selecting Process: For consideration in 2019, applicants should email an application package by May 1, 2018 to: J. Scheffe (email: The application package should consist of: (i) The Application Form (ii) A Statement of Research The application material should be submitted electronically to Jonathan Scheffe at the following e-mail address:
Funding: Custodial Account
Date Created: 11/10/2008
Date Modified: 2/13/2013
Contact Name:
Contact Email:  
Contact Phone:  

Graduate Student Award Recipients

2000 Gary Rosengaten; University of New South Wales

Runner Up - Joshua Plaisted; University of Wisconsin
2001 James McLeskey, Jr.; University of Virginia

Runner Up - Wei Liu; University of Minnesota
2002 Gunnar Tamm; University of Florida - Gainesville
2003 Sanjay Vijayaraghavan; University of Florida - Gainesville

Runner Up - Thomas Osinga; ETH - Zurich
2004 Nitin Goel; University of Florida - Gainesville
2005 Daniel Thomas; University of Minnesota
2007 Frank Burkholder; University of Colorado-Boulder
2010 Thomas Sebastian; North Carolina State University
2011 Daniel S. Codd; Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2013 John James; Dreby
2014 Winner Thomas Cooper; ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology)
2015 David Curran; San Diego State University
2016 Simon Ackermann; ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology
2017 Alberto Sánchez González; Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
2018 Meng Lin; École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne