Engine Impact Award

This is an ICE Division award that honors internal combustion engine and aftertreatment system related research and development that has been put into practice towards a commercial product develop by industry. This award is specifically created to recognize researchers in industry who have made tremendous contributions to the ICE community. Since industry researchers may not be able to publish their work, this award is designed to acknowledge their achievements. The recipient need not be a member of the ICE division, but we hope that they would engage with the division in some capacity.

Nomination Form

ASME Unit: Internal Combustion Engine Division (ICED)
Date Established: 07/18/2022
Achievement: Outstanding technical achievements towards a commercial engine product developed by industry.
Limitations: Does not need to be a division member.
Nomination Deadline: May 1
Nominator Must be an ICE division member
Form of Award: Certificate-usually laminated onto a walnut board
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: Internal Combustion Engine Division
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: ICE Division Executive Committee
Selecting Process: Nominations are screened and approved by the ICE Division Executive Committee
Funding: ICE Division Custodian Account
Date Created: 10/18/2000
Contact Name: Tom Lavertu
Contact Email: thomas.lavertu@Wabtec.com

Up to 2 awards per year/conference

The nominator for the Engine Impact Award is required fill out the form and submit to Dr. Thomas Lavertu thomas.lavertu@Wabtec.com.

2023 Winners

Paul Najt
General Motors Research


Robert McDavid, Ph.D.
Engineering Manager-1, Combustion & Thermofluids Systems Research
Caterpillar Inc.

2023 Winner
John Deur, PhD

2022 Winner
Eric Dillen

You are now leaving ASME.org