Distinguished Service Award

ASME Unit: Computers and Information in Engineering Division (CIE)
Date Established: 2010
Achievement: To recognize a person for dedicated service in support of the CIE Division'/s mission.
Limitations: The candidate must be an ASME member and be in good standing at the time of nomination. Current members of the ASME CIE Technical Committees and members of the Executive Committee are not eligible for the award.
Nomination Deadline: May 1
Form of Award: The recipient will receive a certificate, which will be presented at the yearly ASME IDETC/CIE Conference.
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: Computers and Information in Engineering Division (CIE)
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: The selection will be based on the nominee'/s service to advancing the mission of the ASME CIE Division. The selection of the winner will be made by the CIE Executive Committee.
Selecting Process: Nomination materials must be submitted in a single PDF file by May 01 to Barbara Zlatnik (zlatnikb@asme.org)  and should be addressed to ASME CIE Division Award Committee.
Nomination Package The nomination package should contain the following:
  • Cover letter from the nominator which clearly states the CIE unit award.
  • Nominee’s latest curriculum vitae
  • A statement (not exceeding 750 words) on the nominee’s contributions and impact.
  • At least three and no more than five recommendation letters from individuals who can assess the nominee’s contributions and impacts
Funding: The Computers and Information in Engineering Division
Date Created: 3/17/2011
Date Modified: 3/5/2013
Contact Name: Barbara Zlatnik
Contact Email: zlatnikb@asme.org

Winners of the Distinguished Service Award

2023 Paul Witherell
2022 Mahesh Mani & Satyandra K. Gupta
2021 Jitesh Panchal
2020 Yan Wang
2018  Ian R. Grosse
2017  Monica Bordegoni and Krishnan Suresh
2016  None
2015  Ashok V. Kumar
2014  Ram D. Sriram
2013  Not Given this year
2012  Fred Proctor
2011  Ravi Rangan
2010  David Lee

You are now leaving ASME.org