Design Automation Award

ASME Unit: Design Engineering Division (DED)
Date Established: 1988
Achievement: To recognize sustained meritorious contribution to research in Design Automation.
Nomination Deadline: 4/1
Form of Award: Plaque
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: Design Engineering Division - Design Automation Committee (DAC)
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: Design Automation Honors and Awards Selection Committee
Selecting Process: Nominations for this award can be made by any member of ASME to TCDA Chair. The nomination package should include specific details of the nominee'/s contributions to the area of Design Automation and a critical explanation of why these contributions are significant enough to warrant the award. A curriculum vitae should also be included for the nominee, along with letters of recommendation from other researchers in the nominee'/s field. Nominations are evaluated by the Design Automation Award Selection Committee consisting of the TCDA Chair, the immediate past TCDA Chair, the DAC Conference Chair, and two past winners of Design Automation Award selected by the TCDA Chair, the immediate past TCDA Chair, and the DAC Conference Chair. The TCDA Chair chairs the committee. In the case where a member of the Award Selection Committee is the nominator or a reference of an award applicant, he/she will not participate in the discussion and voting. This award will only be given after the recommendation of 75% of the members of the Design Automation Award Selection Committee. Unsuccessful nomination packages will be held for consideration for two additional years. Providing supplemental documentation such as the updated curriculum vitae and nomination letter is strongly encouraged for such nominations submitted earlier.
Funding: Funded by the Design Automation Committee
Date Created: 10/18/2000
Date Modified:  
Contact Name:  
Contact Email:  
Contact Phone:  

Winners of the Design Automation Award

2023 Michael Kokkolaras
2022 Carolyn Seepersad
2021 Satyandra K. Gupta
2020 Not awarded
2016  George Fadel
2015  Wei Chen
2014  Vadim Shapiro
2013  Michael Yu Wang
2012  Singiresu S. Rao
2011  Ram Sriram
2010  Judy Vance
2009  Masataka Yoshimura
2008  Jami Shah
2007  Shapour Azarm
2006  K.K. Choi
2005  Ren Ya Yang
2004  Deba Dutta
2003  Alan Parkinson
1999  Farrokh Mistree
1998  Panos Papalambros
1996  Bahram Ravani
1995  Glen Johnson
1993  Kenneth Ragsdell
1991  Edward Haug
1990  Ali Seireg
1988  Douglas Wilde

You are now leaving