Best Ph.D. Thesis/Dissertation Award

ASME Unit: Computers and Information in Engineering Division (CIE)
Date Established: 2013
Achievement: To recognize a promising young investigator who authored the best Ph.D thesis of the year in the area of computers and information in engineering. To ensure that it is presented to appropriately qualified recipients and to maintain the prestigious nature of the award it may not be presented every year.
Limitations: The candidate must have defended his/her thesis within the last two years from the package submission deadline.
Nomination Deadline: May 1
Form of Award: The recipient will receive a certificate and a $1000 award, along with a complimentary membership to ASME, which will be presented at the yearly ASME IDETC/CIE Conference
Frequency of Award: Annual
Administrative: Computers and Information in Engineering Division (CIE)
Level of Award: Division
Selected By: The selection will be based on the novelty of the research, the potential and current impact, the quality of associated research methodology and analysis, and the overall quality of the written thesis. The selection of the winner will be made by a committee appointed by the CIE division chair.
Selecting Process: Nomination materials must be submitted in a single PDF file by May 01 to Barbara Zlatnik (  and should be addressed to ASME CIE Division Award Committee.
Nomination Package The nomination package should contain the following:
  • Cover letter from the nominator which clearly states the CIE unit award.
  • Nominee’s latest curriculum vitae
  • Ph.D. Thesis/Dissertation
  • Optional - No more than two reference letters from individuals who can assess the nominee’s contributions and potential impacts
Funding: The Computers and Information in Engineering Division
Date Created: 2/14/2013
Date Modified: 2/13/2014
Contact Name: Barbara Zlatnik
Contact Email:

Winners of the Best Ph.D. Thesis/Dissertation Award

2023 Prahar Bhatt & Shahroz Khan
2022 Yinan Wang
2021 Yanglong Lu & Shaurya Shriyam
2020 Siva Chaitanya Chaduvula, Yongzhe Li
2019 Morad Behandish
2018 Thomas Hagedorn
2017 Zhenghui Sha
2016 Briana Lucero
2015 Sagar Chowdhury
2015 John Steuben
2014 Niccolò Becattini
2014 Beshoy Morkos
2013 Atul Thakur
2013 Chiradeep Sen

You are now leaving