Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award

The Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award recognizes the leadership and service qualities of a Student Section Advisor who has completed at least 3 academic years as a Student Section Advisor prior to nomination for the award.

A nomination for this award is expected to substantiate the leadership and service qualities of the nominee by reference to accomplishments in at least the following areas:

Providing guidance to the Student Section on the activities and programs that will stimulate interest in the profession

Creating a professional awareness in Student Members which will inspire them to upgrade to Member before graduation and to maintain a continuous active membership in ASME

Encouraging Student Section officers to get involved and participate at ASME training, conferences and competitions

Acting as a liaison between the ASME and the Student Section members

Facilitating interaction of Student Members with the local ASME Section

Working with the department chair to encourage the support of the ASME Student Section activities

Supporting the Student Section and guiding students’ activities

Participating in ASME student related activities

The award was established in 1990 as the Faculty Advisor Award in a dual effort by the Committee on Honors and the Council on Member Affairs to bring recognition to the Student Section Advisors for their contributions to perpetuating ASME. In 2000, the award was re-designated the Student Section Advisor Award and in 2014 it became the Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award.

Form of Award:

$1500 honorarium, a silver medal, a certificate, and a travel supplement not to exceed $750

Limitation(s): Student Section Advisor must have completed at least 3 academic years as a Student Section Advisor prior to nomination for the award.
Nomination Deadline: March 15 to the General Awards Committee
Committee Chair: N. Dyess
Nomination SentTo: mckivorf@asme.org
Phone Number: 212-591-7094
Administrative Responsibility: General Awards Committee
Awarded By: Committee on Honors


1992 Richard A. Fitz San Diego State University 2006 Debendra K. Das University of Alaska at Fairbanks
1993 M. Sathyamoorthy University of Texas at Tyler 2007 Ronald S. Adrezin University of Hartford
1994 Paul C. Lam University of Akron 2008 James P. O'/Leary Tufts University
1995 Charles F. Reinholtz Virginia Polytechnic Institute 2009 Timothy C. Scott University of Virginia
1996 Richard R. Johnson North Carolina State University 2010 Zbigniew Marian Bzymek University of Connecticut
1997 Latif Jiji City College of New York 2011 Jay M. Samuel University of Wisconsin
1998 Chittaranjan Sahay State University of New York at Binghamton 2012 Rick Couvillion University of Arkansas
1999 Shirley T. Fleischmann Grand Valley State University 2013 Richard A. Merz Lafayette College
2000 Kenneth L. Gentili Tacoma Community College 2014 Antonios Kontsos Drexel University
2001 Abel-Hernandez-Guerrero University of Guanajuato at Salamanca 2015 Selin Arslan Lawrence Technical University
2002 Massimo Capobianchi Gonzaga University 2016 Kok-Keung Lo The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
2003 Ghatu Subhash Michigan Technological University 2017 Nadir Yilmaz Howard University
2004 Beth Ann Todd University of Alabama 2019 Mohammad Mahinfalah
2005 Lanier S. Cauley University of South Alabama    


Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award Criteria

Outstanding Student Section Advisor Award Nomination Form

You are now leaving ASME.org