Worcester Reed Warner Medal

The Worcester Reed Warner Medal is awarded to an individual for seminal contribution to the permanent literature of engineering. Single papers, treatises, books or series of papers, and digital media may be considered.  Works should be highly influential to a generation of engineers, and not exclusively the result of a prolific career. Works considered may deal with progressive ideas relative to engineering; the design and operation of mechanical and associated equipment; industrial engineering or management organization, operation and the concomitants of each; and other subjects closely associated with the foregoing.

To qualify as having permanent value, any paper or treatise should not be less than five (5) years old.

Worcester Reed Warner, Charter Member and Sixteenth President of the Society, established the medal by bequest in 1930.

Submit Nomination Here
Nomination Instructions
Nomination Tips

Form of Award: $2000, vermeil medal and certificate
Limitation(s): Literature must be at least 5 years old
Administrative Responsibility: General Awards Committee (GAC)
Nomination Deadline: March 1
Nomination Sent To: Leila Persaud
Phone Number: 212-591-7071
Email: persaudl@asme.org
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)


1933 Dexter S. Kimball 1966 Eric A. Farber 1998 Thomas J. R. Hughes
1934 Ralph E. Flanders 1967 Nicholas J. Hoff 1999 Yogesh Jaluria
1935 Stephen P. Timoshenko 1968 Merhyle F. Spotts 2000 Avram Bar-Cohen
1936 Charles M. Allen 1969 Hans W. Leipmann 2001 Budugur Lakshminarayana
1937 Clarence Hirschfeld 1970 Wilhelm Flugge 2002 Tsu-Wei Chou
1938 Lawford H. Fry 1971 Stephen H. Crandall 2004 Ephraim Suhir
1939 Rupen Eksergian 1972 Burgess H. Jennings 2006 James G. Simmonds
1940 William Gregory 1973 Max Mark Frocht 2007 Portonovo Ayyaswamy
1941 Richard Southwell 1974 Victor L. Streeter 2008 Ashwani K. Gupta
1942 Fred H. Colvin 1975 Philip G. Hodge, Jr. 2009 David G. Lilley
1943 Igor I. Sikorsky 1976 Dennis G. Shepherd 2012 János M. Beér
1944 Earle Buckingham 1977 Joseph E. Shigley 2013 Singiresu S. Rao
1945 Joseph M. Juran 1978 James H. Potter 2014 Vigor Yang
1947 Arpad L. Nadai 1979 Darle W. Dudley 2015 John H. Lau
1948 Edward S. Cole 1980 Olgierd C. Zienkiewicz 2016 Isaac Elishakoff
1949 Fred B. Seely 1981 Frank Kreith 2017 Michael P. Païdoussis
1950 Orlan W. Boston 1982 Herbert Kolsky 2018 Martin Ostoja-Starzewski
1951 Jacob P. Den Hartog 1983 Allan D. Kraus 2019 Arun R. Srinivasa
1952 Max Jakob 1984 Yuan-Cheng Fung 2020 Marco Amabili
1953 William McAdams 1985 Richard H. Gallagher 2021 Hanqing Jiang
1954 Joseph Keenan 1986 Ephraim M. Sparrow 2022 Kumbakonam R. Rajagopal
1955 Howard S. Bean 1987 Jack P. Holman    
1956 J. Keith Louden 1988 Richard M. Christensen    
1957 William Prager 1989 Lawrence E. Malvern    
1958 Harold J. Rose 1990 J. Tinsley Oden    
1959 Daniel Glasstone 1991 Bruno A. Boley    
1960 Lloyd H. Donnell 1992 J. Narasimh Reddy    
1961 C. L. W. Trinks 1993 Frank J. Rizzo    
1962 Virgil M. Faires 1994 George Springer    
1963 Frederick Morse 1995 Frank P. Incropera    
1964 Oscar J. Horger 1996 Adrian Bejan    
1965 Ascher H. Shapiro 1997 Zdenek P. Bazant    

You are now leaving ASME.org