Henry Hess Early Career Publication Award

The Henry Hess Early Career Publication Award is given for best original technical paper presented to or published by the Society during the two calendar years prior to the year of award by an ASME Member. Joint authorship is permissible provided all authors meet the requirements. One of the authors must be an ASME Member. The paper shall be specifically recommended for the award by a review committee or qualified individual. The award was established in 1914 by Henry Hess, Member and Vice President of the Society. In 2016, the name was changed to the Henry Hess Early Career Publication Award.

Submit Nomination Here
Nomination Instructions
Nomination Tips

Form of Award: $2,500, certificate, and a $750 travel allowance
Limitation(s): The author(s) must be one who was not yet 35 years of age or 10 years after terminal degree at the time the paper was presented to or published by the Society during the two calendar years prior to the year of the award. One of the authors must be an ASME Member.
Administrative Responsibility: General Awards Committee (GAC)
Nomination Deadline: March 1
E-mail: persaudl@asme.org
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)


1915 Ernest Hickstein 1943 Troels Warming 1976 G.D. Gupta
1916 L.B. McMillan 1945 Bruce Del Mar 1977 Robert J. Hannemann
1919 E.D. Whalen 1946 Martin Goland 1978 Maria Comninou
1921 S. Logan Kerr 1947 Gilbert T. Rowe 1979 Krishna C. Gupta
1922 R.H. Heilman 1948 Hunt Davis 1980 Bharat Bhushan
  F.L. Kallam 1949 Gerhard Nothmann 1984 Richard C. Benson
1923 S.S. Sanford 1951 John D. Stantz 1986 Steven W. Shaw
  S. Crocker 1952 Warren Rohsenow 1988 David L. McDowell
1924 R.H. Heilman 1955 F. Freudenstein 1990 Stephen E. Bechtel
1925 Gilbert Schaller 1959 Victor Salesmann 1992 Jeffrey S. Marshall
1927 William M. Frame 1960 Gunnar Heskestad 1993 Mark T. Hanson
1928 M.D. Aisenstein   Duane Olberts 1995 J. Edward Colgate
1929 Arthur M. Wahl 1961 J.E. Fleckenstein 2018 Mary H. Foltz
1930 Ed S. Smith, Jr. 1962 Miklos Sajben   Craig C. Kage
1931 Montrose Drewry 1963 A. Thiruvengadam   Casey P. Johnson
1932 Edmund M. Wagner 1964 R.J. McGrattan   Arin M. Ellingson
1933 Townsend Tinker 1965 J.F. Booker 2019 Benjamin Werbner
1934 John Yellott, Jr. 1966 Jerry R. Johanson   Minhao Zhou
1935 Stanley Mikiwa 1967 Richard E. Barrett   Grace D. O’Connell
1936 H.F. Mullikin, Jr. 1969 James R. Rice 2022 R. Renee Zhao
Rundong Zhang
Shuai Wu
Qiji Ze
1937 Leslie J. Hooper 1970 T.L. Geers    
1938 Arthur C. Stern 1972 D.C. Gakenheimer    
1940 Robert E. Newton 1973 Hazem A. Ezzat    
1941 John Rettaliata   Steve M. Rohde    
1942 Winston M. Dudley 1974 Lambert B. Freund    

You are now leaving ASME.org