Freeman Scholar Award

The Freeman Scholar Award Program is awarded annually.

A person of significant expertise in fluids engineering is selected as the Freeman Scholar by the Freeman Scholar Award Committee and the Committee on Honors. Freeman Scholars are expected to review a coherent topic in their specialty, write a review article for the Journal of Fluids Engineering and present a plenary lecture during the Fluids Engineering Division Summer Meeting.

The Freeman Scholar Program is supported by the ASME Freeman Fund and was established in 1970 by John R. Freeman, noted hydraulic engineer and scholar, Honorary Member and Twenty-fourth President of ASME.
Freeman Scholar Award Nomination Form
Nomination Instructions
Nomination Tips

Form of Award: $10,000, certificate and a $750 travel allowance
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Fluids Engineering Division
Nomination Deadline: September 1
Nomination Sent To:  Goodarz Ahmadi
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

Applications for the 2023 Freeman Scholar Award must be submitted by September 1, 2022.  Nominations should be submitted  to The applications must include:

  1. A statement on the applicant'/s qualifications for undertaking a major study in the selected area.
  2. A statement on the significance of the selected area including the rationale that the contribution of the prospective Freeman Scholar will make a significant and timely impact to current and future challenges in Fluids Engineering practice.
  3. A description of the ideas to be considered and the technology to be reviewed.

A minimum of three supporting letters from persons familiar with the review area and the applicant. All the previous Freeman Scholar review articles may be found in the pertinent issues of the Journal of Fluids Engineering. Standing Committee on the Freeman Scholar Program

  • Goodarz Ahmadi (Chair), Clarkson University
  • Promode R. Bandyopadhyay, Naval Undersea Warfare Center
  • Sivaramakrishnan Balachandar, University of Florida


1971 Jack W. Hoyt, Ronald F. Probstein
1974 Jack E. Cermak
1976 William J. McCroskey
1978 Benjamin Gebhart
1980 Edward M. Greitzer
1982 Simon Ostrach
1984 A.K.M. Fazle Hussain
1986 John B. Heywood
1990 Budugur Lakshminarayana
1992 William A. Sirignano
1994 David E. Stock
1996 Kirti N. Ghia
1998 Mohamed Gad-el-Hak
2000 Yogesh Jaluria
2002 Efstathios E. Michaelides
2004 Gary S. Settles
2006 Promode R. Bandyopadhyay
2008 William K. George
2009 Joseph C. Klewicki
2010 Michael W. Reeks
2012 Pratap Vanka
2014 Steven Ceccio
2016 Goodarz Ahmadi
2017 Sivaramakrishnan Balachandar
2018 Ramesh K. Agarwal
2019 Upendra S. Rohatgi
2020 Alfredo Soldati
2021 Rajat Mittal
2022 Timothy E. Colonius

You are now leaving