Edward F. Obert Award

The Edward F. Obert Award recognizes an outstanding paper on thermodynamics presented during the preceding two calendar years. The award shall be made for a paper presented at the Advanced Energy Systems Division’s International Mechanical Engineering Congress symposium on energy systems analysis (so long as the symposium continues). The award shall be presented at the following ASME Congress.

The award was established in 1987 as a division award until 1995 when it was elevated to a Society award.

Form of Award: A $5,000 honorarium, a certificate, and a travel supplement not to exceed $750
Limitation(s): All papers must be written during the preceding two years of Congress presentation.
Administrative Responsibility: Advanced Energy Systems Division
Nomination Deadline: February 1
Nomination Sent To: Edward F. Obert Award Committee Chair
Committee Chair: D.D. Boettner
Phone Number: 845-661-0948 
E-mail: boettnerd@aol.com
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)


1997 Thomas P. Anderson 2007 Andrea Lazzaretto
1998 Andrea Lazzaretto   Andrea Toffolo
  George Tsatsaronis 2010 Noam Lior
1999 Masaru Ishida   Na Zhang
  Takahiro Suzuki 2012 Michael R. von Spakovsky
  Masashi Yamamoto   Charles E. Smith
2000 Anthony J. Bowman 2014 Hameed Metghalchi
  Richard A. Gaggioli   Ghassan J. Nicolas
  David Paulus, Jr.   Mohammad Janbozorgi
  David H. Richardson 2016 Sara Cosentino
2001 Elias P. Gyftopoulos   Adriano Sciacovelli
2002 Cristian Carraretto   Vittorio Verda
  Alberto Mirandola 2017 Luca Rivadossi
  Anna Stoppato   Gian P. Beretta
2003 Luis M. Serra 2018 Andrea Toffolo
  Antonio Valero   Andrea Lazzaretto
  Vittorio Verda   Sergio Rech
2004 Adrian Bejan 2019 John H. Lienhard V
  Sylvie Lorente 2020 Henry A. Long III
      Ting Wang
    2021 Jesse Watjen
      Matthew T. Schifano
      Mitra N. Sexton


Nomination Instructions

Literature Nomination Form

You are now leaving ASME.org