Arthur L. Williston Medal

The Arthur L. Williston Medal is presented for the best paper submitted in the annual competition on a subject chosen to challenge the engineering abilities of engineering students in conformance with the annual contest guidelines.

A contestant must be an ASME Student Member orMember who received a baccalaureate degree not more than two years before the deadline date for submission of papers. In 1987, the award was expanded to recognize second and third place papers.

Arthur L. Williston, ASME Member, established the medal in 1954.

Form of Award:

$1000, Bronze Medal, Certificate travel expense supplement to attend the award presentation

$500 and Certificate (2nd)

$250 and Certificate(3rd)

Limitation(s): Student Member or Member (graduated not more than 2 years) and must have an ASME sponsor.
Administrative Responsibility: General Awards Committee (GAC)
Nomination Deadline: March 1
Nomination SentTo: General Awards Committee
Committee Chair: N. Dyess
Phone Number: 212-591-7094
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)


First Place

1956 John A. Welsh 1982 John H. Pilarski 2006 Tyler E. Schnug
1957 Walter P. Logeman 1983 Max R. Casada 2007 Michael Steel
1959 Rowe A. Girardini 1984 Eddie E. Ferrer 2008 Raymond M. Meyer
1960 Marc Fishbein 1985 Henry M. Quillian III 2009 Michael Simmons
1961 James R. Stewart 1986 Stephen J. Schoonmaker 2010 Andrew N. Rister
1962 Charles H. Recht 1987 Thomas C. Davis 2011 Prabal Goyal
1964 Kenneth E. Gawronski 1988 Christian L. Struble 2012 Kyle C. Picha
1965 LaRoux K. Gillespie 1990 Robert J. Stehlik 2013 Cassandra N. Hawley
1966 Eddie R. Howe 1991 Matt Pruszynski 2014 Mavila M. Miller
1967 L. Thomas Cooper III 1992 Sean L. Neilson 2015 Matthew D. Hill
1968 Frank A. Ralbovsky 1993 Michael J. Zinngrabe 2016 Leong Ka Long Karen
1969 Arlo Fossum 1994 Michael J. Zinngrabe 2017 Austin P. Kraus
1970 Steven H. Carlson 1995 Daniel A. Fletcher 2018 Noah M. Purdy
1971 James A. Willms 1996 Jeffrey M. Otto    
1972 Dennis L. Sandberg 1997 Laura R. Foster    
1973 Frank H. Roubleau, Jr. 1998 Darrick A. Dean    
1974 James J. Callas 1999 Matthew E. Myers    
1976 Enud David Laska 2001 Amip Shah    
1977 Harry W. Groot 2002 Anne M. Hines    
1978 Jitendra S. Goela 2003 David L. Damm    
1979 Steven E. Stephens 2004 Marie H. Hoffman    
1980 Charles S. Macaulay 2005 Valerie Stringer    

Second Place

1988 Michael E. Kennedy 1999 Donna L. Hall 2011 Nathaniel D. Taylor
1989 David A. Walker 2001 David L. Damm 2012 Daniel J. Hershman
1990 Randall W. Meinert 2002 Andrew E. Karl 2013 James P. Crawford
1991 Kenneth Skoug III 2003 Scott A. Fisher 2014 Bernard K. Witschen
1992 Gilroy S. Ames 2004 Paul F. Tatum 2015 Tara Larkin
1993 Wade LaGrenade 2005 John Q. Bolton 2017 Joseph R.H. Schaadt
1994 Jeffrey Craig Morris 2006 Amanda M. Thomas    
1995 Connie J. Bleidorn 2007 Lori Michelle Neidig    
1996 Che J. Barnes 2008 Walter S. Fredenhagen III    
1997 Kenneth P. Horne 2009 Tessa RaeKnott    
1998 Elizabeth M. Mastal 2010 Elizabeth Betterbed    

Third Place

1988 John Ellenz 1997 Brian D. Myers 2009 Elizabeth Betterbed
1989 Deborah S. Schenberger 1998 Aaron Marsh 2010 Andrew W. Corwell
1990 John E. Davison 1999 Koh Boon Kiat 2011 Jericho Paolo O. Rivera
1991 Kathleen A. Conley 2001 Anne Hines 2013 Lucas C. Poppe
1992 Kingman Tang 2003 Christopher L. Murphy 2014 Uyanna Obinna
1993 Daniel A. Fletcher 2004 Aashish Kalra 2015 Joseph R. Schaadt
1994 Daniel A. Fletcher 2006 Joy K. Adjorlolo    
1995 Anthony T. Lomma 2007 Danielle Kimberly Williams    
1996 Ookyong Kim 2008 Chris L. Cohoat    


Nomination Instructions