Hoover Medal

31st President of the United States Herbert Hoover was a professional mining engineer and author.
To recognize great, unselfish, non-technical services by engineers to humanity.

Established in 1929, this medal commemorates the civic and humanitarian achievements of engineers. It is conferred upon an engineer whose professional achievements and personal endeavors have advanced the well-being of humankind.

The Hoover Medal is administered by a board representing five engineering organizations: The American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Apply Now



14 KT Hoover Medals have been made possible by generous gifts from:
Amax Gold Inc.
Barrick Gold Corporation
Freeport-McMoRan Copper & Gold Inc.
Placer Dome Inc.
Santa Fe Pacific Gold Corporation


You are now leaving ASME.org