Y.C. Fung Early Career Award

Established to recognize young investigators who are committed to pursuing research in the field of Bioengineering and have demonstrated significant potential to make substantial contributions to the field of Bioengineering. Such accomplishments may take the form of, but are not limited to, design or development of new methods, equipment or instrumentation in bioengineering; and research publications in peer-reviewed journals.

The award was established by the Bioengineering Division in 1985 and operated as a division award until 1998, when it was elevated to a Society award. The award was renamed the Y.C. Fung Early Career Award in 2017.

Form of Award: A $1,000 honorarium, a bronze medal, a certificate, and a travel supplement not to exceed $750
Limitation(s): Candidates must have earned a Ph.D. or equivalent degree in any field of engineering, physics, medicine or life sciences. Candidates must have received their terminal degree less than ten years prior to June 1 of the year the award is conferred. Candidates must be an active member of the Bioengineering Division.
Administrative Responsibility: Bioengineering Division
Nomination Deadline: September 1 to Award Chair
Nomination Sent To: Y.C. Fung Early Career Award Committee Chair (send complete form, with reference letters, as a single PDF)
Committee Chair: G.D. O'Connell
Phone Number: 510-642-3739 
E-mail: g.oconnell@berkeley.edu
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)


1999 Rebecca Richards-Kortum 2011 Ali Khademhosseini
2000 Farshid Guilak 2012 Marissa Nichole Rylander
2001 David F. Meaney 2013 Jonathan P. Vande Geest
2002 Jeffrey A. Weiss 2014 W. David Merryman
2003 Sangeeta N. Bhatia 2015 Adam J. Engler
2004 Richard E. Debski 2016 Triantafyllos Stylianopoulos
2005 Jeffrey W. Holmes 2017 Kristin M. Myers
2006 Beth A. Winkelstein 2018 Spencer P. Lake
2007 Stavros Thomopoulos 2019 Grace D. O’Connell
2008 Gabriel A. Silva 2020 Matthew B. Fisher
2009 Robert L. Mauck 2021 Kristin S. Miller
2010 Matthew J. Gounis    


1986 Mark H. Holmes 1994 Mehmet Toner
1987 Steven A. Goldstein 1995 Cheng Dong
1989 David N. Ku 1996 Anthony Keaveny
1990 Jay D. Humphey 1997 Gerard A. Ateshian
1991 Michael Kwan 1998 Louis J. Soslowsky
1992 Cheng Zhu    
1993 John A. Frangos    


Nomination Instructions

Achievement Nomination Form

You are now leaving ASME.org