Van C. Mow Medal

The Van C. Mow Medal is bestowed upon an individual who has demonstrated meritorious contributions to the field of bioengineering through research, education, professional development, leadership in the development of the profession, mentorship to young bioengineers, and with service to the bioengineering community.

The individual must have earned a Ph.D. or equivalent degree between ten and twenty years prior to June 1 of the year of the award.

The award was established by the Bioengineering Division in 2004.

Form of Award: A $1,000 honorarium, a bronze medal, a certificate, and a travel supplement not to exceed $750
Limitation(s): Candidates must have earned a Ph.D. or equivalent terminal degree in any field of engineering, physics, medicine or life sciences. Candidates must have received their degree between ten and twenty years prior to June 1 of the year in which they will receive the award. Candidates must be an active member of the Bioengineering Division.
Administrative Responsibility: Bioengineering Division
Nomination Deadline: September 1
Nomination Sent To: Award Committee Chair (send complete form, with reference letters, as a single PDF)
Committee Chair: D.M. Elliott
Phone Number: 302-831-1295
Award By: General Awards Committee (GAC)


2005 Kyriacos A. Athanasiou
2006 Robert L. Sah
2007 Lori A. Setton
2008 Scott L. Delp
2009 Michael S. Sacks
2010 Tony M. Keaveny
2011 David A. Vorp
2012 John C. Bischof
2013 Jeffrey A. Weiss
2014 Christopher R. Jacobs
2015 Dawn M. Elliott
2016 Beth A. Winkelstein
2017 Richard R. Neptune
2018 Jeffrey W. Holmes
2019 Tony Jun Huang
2020 Stavros Thomopoulos
2021 Rafael V. Davalos
Robert L. Mauck


Nomination Instructions

Achievement Nomination Form

You are now leaving