Thomas A. Edison Patent Award

The Thomas A. Edison Patent Award, established in 1997, recognizes creativity of a patented device or process that has the potential of significantly enhancing some aspect of mechanical engineering.

Nominations for this award are expected to demonstrate the significant impact of the nominee'/s invention to the practice of mechanical engineering or the significant impact that the invention had on at least one industrial/commercial sector. Such an impact might include: (a) creating a new business or industry, (b) substantially improving the efficiency, method of operation, or productivity of an existing machine or process, (c) dramatically reducing the size, weight, or energy requirements of an existing machine or device, (d) improving the quality of life for a definable segment, or all, of humanity, and (e) financially impacting an existing business or industry.

The nomination should focus on a single patent rather than the inventor'/s entire body of work.

Form of Award: A $1000 honorarium, a plaque, a certificate, and a travel supplement not to exceed $750
Limitation(s): The patent must have been registered in the U.S.
Administrative Responsibility: Design Engineering Division
Nomination Deadline: February 1
Nomination Sent To: Thomas A. Edison Patent Award Committee
Committee Chair: J. Summers
Phone Number: 864-653-5790 
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)


2000 Herman H. Viegas
2001 Alexander M. Gorlov
2002 Hooshang Heshmat
2003 John N. Basic, Sr.
2004 Faydor L. Litvin
2005 Ching-Pang Lee
2006 Charles A. Garris
2007 Norman R. McCombs
2008 Kyriacos A. Athanasiou
2009 Alex J. Severensky
2010 Jyotirmoy Mazumder
2012 Vipin Kumar
2013 Moshe Shoham
2015 Andy Walker
2020 Shorya Awtar


Nomination Instructions

Achievement Nomination Form

You are now leaving