Rufus Oldenburger Medal

The Rufus Oldenburger Medal is a prestigious Society award for lifetime achievements in automatic control. Inaugurated in 1968, the medal recognizes significant contributions and outstanding achievements in the field of automatic control. Such achievements may be, for example, in the areas of education, research, development, innovation, and service to the field and profession.

The award was established to honor Rufus Oldenburger for his distinctive achievements in the field and for his service to the Society and the Division. The list of recipients is a true honor role of major contributors to the science and profession of control.
Apply Now
Nomination Instructions
Nomination Tips

Form of Award: $2000, bronze medal and certificate
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Dynamic Systems & Control Division
Nomination Deadline: February 1
Nomination Sent To: Leila Persaud
Phone Number: 212-591-7071
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)


1968 Rufus Oldenburger 1985 Karl J. Astrom 2005 Roger W. Brockett
1969 Nathaniel B. Nichols 1986 Eliahu I. Jury 2006 J. Karl Hedrick
1970 John R. Ragazzini 1987 Walter R. Evans 2007 Suguru Arimoto
1971 Charles Stark Draper 1988 Robert H. Cannon, Jr. 2008 A. Galip Ulsoy
1972 Albert J. Williams, Jr. 1989 Jaakov Z. Tsypkin 2009 Neville J. Hogan
1973 Clesson E. Mason 1990 Harold Chestnut 2010 Rolf Isermann
1974 Herbert W. Ziebolz 1991 John G. Truxal 2011 Haruhiko H. Asada
1975 Hendrik W. Bode 1992 Issac M. Horowitz 2012 Mathukumalli Vidyasagar
  Harry Nyquist 1993 Lotfi A. Zadeh 2013 Graham C. Goodwin
1976 Rudolf Emil Kalman 1994 Howard H. Rosenbrock 2014 Robert R. Bitmead
1977 Gordon S. Brown 1995 George Leitmann 2015 Manfred Morari
  Harold L. Hazen 1996 George D. Zames 2016 Jean-Jacques Slotine
1978 Yasundo Takahashi 1997 Thomas B. Sheridan 2017 Miroslav Krstic
1979 Henry M. Paynter 1998 David G. Luenberger 2018 Roberto Horowitz
1980 Arthur E. Bryson, Jr. 1999 Yu-Chi Ho 2019 Huei Peng
1981 Shih-Ying Lee 2000 Ioan D. Landau 2020 Mark W. Spong
1982 Bernard Friedland 2002 Masayoshi Tomizuka 2021 Sosale S. Sastry
1983 J. Lowen Shearer 2003 Vadim Utkin 2022 Wayne J. Book
1984 Herbert H. Richardson 2004 Alistair MacFarlane

You are now leaving