Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award

The Robert Henry Thurston Lecture, established in 1925 in honor of ASME’s first president, provided an opportunity for a leader in pure and/or applied science or engineering to present to the Society a lecture on a subject of broad interest to engineers. The Thurston Lecture was elevated to a Society award in 2000.

Apply Now
Nomination Instructions
Nomination Tips

Form of Award: $500, plaque, certificate, and a $500 travel allowance
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Technical and Engineering Communities (TEC) Sector
Nomination Deadline: February 15
Nomination Sent To: Leila Persaud
Phone Number: 212-591-7071
Awarded By: General Awards Committee (GAC)


2001 John W. Hutchinson 2013 John A. Rogers
2002 Elias P. Gyftopoulos 2014 Ken P. Chong
2003 Yogesh Jaluria 2015 Horacio D. Espinosa
2004 Bharat Bhushan 2016 Romesh C. Batra
2005 Savio L-Y. Woo 2017 Mohammed A. Zikry
2006 Sia Nemat-Nasser 2018 Guruswami Ravichandran
2007 Wing Kam Liu 2019 Yonggang Huang
2008 Vijay K. Dhir 2020 Andrew Alleyne
2009 Huajian Gao 2021 M. Cynthia Hipwell
2010 Ares J. Rosakis 2022 Robert O. Ritchie
2011 Francis C. Moon
2012 Zhigang Suo


2000 Duncan Dowson 1984 Robert A. Frosch
1999 Adrian Bejan 1983 Ernst R. G. Eckert
1998 Van C. Mow 1982 Hans M. Mark
1997 Raymond Viskanta 1981 John Erik Jonsson
1996 Don P. Giddens 1980 Milton S. Plesset
1995 Paul Cooper 1979 W. Dale Compton
1994 Robert M. Nerem 1978 Allen F. Rhodes
1993 Chang-Lin Tien 1977 Robert C. Dean, Jr.
1992 John H. Lienhard 1976 Chauncey Starr
1991 Frank Kreith 1975 Myron Tribus
1990 Jack S. Kilby 1974 Robert W. Emmons
1989 Stephen J. Kline 1973 Henry M. Paynter
1988 Stephen H. Crandal 1972 George F. Carrier
1987 Simon Ostrach 1971 Milton C. Shaw
1986 Daniel C. Drucker 1970 Jacob P. Den Hartog
1985 Yuan-Cheng B. Fung 1969 Jacob Ackeret

You are now leaving