Ralph Coats Roe Medal

The Ralph Coats Roe Medal, established in 1972, recognizes an outstanding contribution toward a better public understanding and appreciation of the engineer’s worth to contemporary society.

The successful candidate is expected to give an authoritative lecture in his/her field at a general session during the ASME Annual Meeting.

Ralph Coats Roe was a pioneer and innovator in the design and construction of highly efficient power plants and advanced desalting processes. He was an inspiration to his colleagues by his great achievements through self-education in highly sophisticated technologies.

The medal was endowed by Burns and Roe, Inc., the corporation founded by Ralph Coats Roe.

Form of Award: $12,000, Gold Medal, Certificate and Travel expense supplement to attend the award presentation.
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Committee on Honors (COH)
Nomination Deadline: September 15
Nomination Sent To: Ralph Coats Roe Medal Committee Chair
Committee Chair: J.A. Bamberger
Phone Number: 509-375-3898 
E-mail: bambergerj@asme.org
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)


1974 Emilio Q. Daddario 1991 Henry J. Petroski 2007 Roop L. Mahajan
1975 Walter Sullivan 1992 Frank Kreith 2008 Shirley Ann Jackson
1977 Robert C. Seamans, Jr. 1993 Mary Lowe Good 2009 Bonnie J. Dunbar
1978 David Perlman 1995 John Noble Wilford 2010 Charles M. Vest
1979 William D. Carey 1996 Norman R. Augustine 2011 Ioannis N. Miaoulis
1980 Melvin Kranzberg 1997 Cong. George E. Brown, Jr. 2012 Bill Nye
1981 Carl Sagan 1998 Paul B. MacCready 2013 G. Wayne Clough
1982 Samuel C. Florman 1999 Edward Wenk, Jr. 2014 Adam Hart-Davis
1983 Tracy Kidder 2000 Barry I. Hyman 2015 Freeman A. Hrabowski, III
1984 Lee Iacocca 2001 N. Jan Davis 2016 James J. Duderstadt
1985 David Dooling, Jr. 2002 Dean Kamen 2017 Adrian Bejan
1987 T. Lindsay Baker 2003 Vernon J. Ehlers 2018 Gwynne Shotwell
1988 Cong. Donald L. Ritter 2004 William A. Wulf 2019 Charles F. Bolden Jr.
1989 John H. Lienhard 2005 Winfred M. Phillips 2020 William S. Hammack
1990 Jeremy Bernstein 2006 Bernard Amadei 2021 Elbert L. Rutan


Nomination Instructions

Achievement Nomination Form

You are now leaving ASME.org