Per Bruel Gold Medal for Noise Control and Acoustics

The Per Bruel Gold Medal for Noise Control and Acoustics is given in recognition of eminent achievement and extraordinary merit in the field of noise control and acoustics. The achievement must include useful applications of the principles of noise control and acoustics to the art and science of mechanical engineering.

The medal, established in 1987, honors Dr. Per Bruel who pioneered the development of sophisticated noise and vibration measuring and processing equipment.

Apply Now
Nomination Instructions
Nomination Tips

Form of Award: $1000, vermeil medal, certificate, and a $750 travel allowance
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Noise Control and Acoustics Division
Nomination Deadline: February 1
Nomination Send To: Leila Persaud
Phone Number: 212-591-7071
Awarded By: General Awards Committee (GAC)


1989 K. Uno Ingard 2002 Ira Dyer 2015 David T. Blackstock
1990 Lothar Cremer 2003 David Feit 2016 Patricia Davies
1991 Alan Powell 2004 Leo L. Beranek 2017 Malcolm Crocker
1992 Miguel C. Junger 2005 Adnan Akay 2018 Sean F. Wu
1993 David Crighton 2006 Cyril M. Harris 2019 Karl Grosh
1994 Eric E. Ungar 2007 Jerry H. Ginsberg 2020 J. Stuart Bolton
1995 Allan D. Pierce 2009 Earl G. Williams 2021 David R. Dowling
1996 Maurice M. Sevik 2011 Mardi C. Hastings    
1997 John E. Ffowcs Williams 2012 Theodore M. Farabee    
2000 Michael S. Howe 2013 Richard H. Lyon    
2001 Gary H. Koopmann 2014 Andrew N. Norris    

You are now leaving