Melvin R. Green Codes & Standards Medal

The Melvin R. Green Codes and Standards Medal

The Melvin R. Green Codes and Standards Medal recognizes outstanding contributions to: (1) the development, promulgation, or management of documents, objects, or devices used in ASME programs of technical codification, standardization, and conformity assessment, or (2) the acceptance of ASME Codes and Standards within the United States or internationally.

This medal was established in 1976 as the Codes and Standards Medal and renamed the Melvin R. Green Codes and Standards Medal in 1996 to honor the memory and extraordinary contributions of Melvin R. Green, an ardent supporter of industrial standards. He was a past recipient of the Codes and Standards Medal, ASME Fellow and longtime employee of the Society.

Form of Award: $1500, Bronze Medal and Certificate
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Council on Standards and Certification
Nomination Deadline: January 1
Nomination Sent To: Melvin R. Green Codes and Standards Medal Committee Chair
Committee Chair: M. Nayyar
Phone Number: 301-774-3806
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

Melvin R. Green Codes & Standards Medal Recipients

1977 William G. McLean 1992 Walter R. Mikesell, Jr. 2007 Guido G. Karcher
1978 Leonard P. Zick 1993 Wendell P. Johnson 2008 Kenneth R. Balkey
1979 Joseph F. Sebald 1994 Oscar J. Fisher 2009 Louis E. Hayden, Jr.
1980 George F. Habach 1995 James R. Farr 2010 June Ling
1981 Roy P. Trowbridge 1996 Guy A. Arlotto 2011 Thomas P. Pastor
1982 James W. Murdock 1997 Spencer H. Bush 2012 Mohinder L. Nayyar
1983 Walter L. Harding 1998 Robert L. Dick 2013 Sidney A. Bernsen
1984 Melvin R. Green 1999 Domenic A. Canonico 2014 James W. Coaker
1985 Paul M. Brister 2000 Richard E. Feigel 2015 James A. Thomas
1986 William E. Cooper 2001 Lawrence J. Chockie 2016 Bernard E. Hrubala
1987 Jack B. Levy 2002 Donald R. Frikken 2017 Paul D. Edwards
1988 John H. Fernandes 2003 James A. Perry 2018 Richard W. Barnes
1989 Howard F. Dobel 2004 Edward A. Donoghue 2019 Michael Merker
1990 Robert J. Bosnak 2005 James H. Turner 2020 Urey R. Miller
1991 Arthur R. Machell, Jr. 2006 J. Robert Sims, Jr. 2021 Walter J. Sperko


Nomination Instructions

Achievement Nomination Form

You are now leaving