Mayo D. Hersey Award

The Mayo D. Hersey Award is bestowed on an individual in recognition of distinguished and continued contributions over a substantial period of time to the advancement of the science and engineering of tribology. Distinguished contributions may result from significant original research in one or more of the many scientific disciplines related to lubrication, from excellence and creativity in lubrication engineering practice, or from sustained and forthright efforts and dissemination of information on the theory and practice of lubrication.

To recognize the splendid leadership in lubrication science and engineering of Mayo D. Hersey, this award was established in 1965 by the joint bequest of the ASME Lubrication Division (now Tribology Division) and the ASME Research Committee on Lubrication (now Research Committee on Tribology).

Submit Nomination Here
Nomination Instructions
Nomination Tips

Form of Award: $2000 and plaque
Limitation(s): None
Administrative Responsibility: Tribology Division
Nomination Deadline: February 1
Awarded By: Committee on Honors (COH)

Mayo D. Hersey Awardees

2024 Q. Jane Wang
2023 Luis San Andrés
2022 Christopher DellaCorte
2021 Itzhak Green
2020 Bharat Bhushan
2019 Lavern D. Wedeven
2018 Andreas A. Polycarpou
2017 James R. Barber
2016 Izhak Etsion
2015 Ali Erdemir
2014 John A. Tichy
2013 Michael M. Khonsari
2012 Francis E. Kennedy, Jr.
2011 Farshid Sadeghi
2010 Frank E. Talke
2009 Richard F. Salant
2008 Leon M. Keer
2007 Hooshang Heshmat
2006 Koji Kato
2005 Andrew Jackson
2004 Hugh A. Spikes
2003 Jean B.M. Frene
2002 Michael N. Gardos
2001 Said Jahanmir
2000 Bernard J. Hamrock
1999 David B. Bogy
1998 Jean Marie Georges
1997 Albert A. Raimondi
1996 James A. Greenwood
1995 Kenneth C. Ludema
1994 Harold G. Elrod, Jr.
1993 Alistair Cameron
1992 Maurice Godet
1991 Kenneth L. Johnson
1990 Herbert S. Cheng
1989 John F. Archard
1988 Donald G. Flom
1987 Marshall B. Peterson
1986 Ward O. Winer
1985 Ernest Rabinowicz
1984 Frederick F. Ling
1983 Donald F. Hays
1982 E. Erwin Klaus
1981 Edmond E. Bisson
1980 Nicolae Tipei
1979 Duncan Dowson
1978 Edward A. Saibel
1977 Robert L. Johnson
1976 John Boyd
1975 Arthur F. Underwood
1974 David Tabor
1973 Donald F. Wilcock
1972 Sydney J. Needs
1971 Dudley D. Fuller
1970 Merrell R. Fenske
1969 William A. Zisman
1968 Ragnar Holm
1967 Milton C. Shaw
1966 Harmen Blok
1965 Mayo D. Hersey

You are now leaving